Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The cay

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 4
Lexile measure:
860L
Description
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor's classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay . Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he's eager to glimpse it firsthand-until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed. When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother's warning about black people: "They are different, and they live differently." But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip's head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy. "Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story...The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book...The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon."-- New York Times Book Review "A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation...At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile--as Timothy would say, 'outrageous good.'"-- Kirkus Reviews * "Fully realized setting...artful, unobtrusive use of dialect...the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children's literature."-- School Library Journal , Starred "Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling."-- Saturday Review "A tense and moving experience in reading."-- Publishers Weekly "Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man."-- Booklist "This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe ."-- The Washington Star · A New York Times Best Book of the Year · A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year · A Horn Book Honor Book · An American Library Association Notable Book · A Publishers Weekly Children's Book to Remember · A Child Study Association's Pick of Children's Books of the Year · Jane Addams Book Award · Lewis Carroll Shelf Award · Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award · Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award · Woodward School Annual Book Award · Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780440416630
9780385079068
9781400099061
9780440229124
9780380010035
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.3, 4 Points
Lexile measure:
860L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID02bdad74-12df-7bda-bac6-f5cf64b70311
Grouping Titlecay
Grouping Authortheodore taylor
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-01 20:42:06PM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 04:20:05AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value4
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.3
auth_author2Boatman, Michael, 1964-
authorTaylor, Theodore, 1921-2006.
author2-roleBoatman, Michael,1964-
Paul Cartwright Collection (Mississippi State University. Libraries)
author_displayTaylor, Theodore
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge Childrens - J
Main Childrens - J
Main Childrens Audiobook J
display_descriptionWhen the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, an adolescent white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old black man are stranded on a tiny Caribbean island where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
format_santafeAudio CD
Book
id02bdad74-12df-7bda-bac6-f5cf64b70311
isbn9780380010035
9780385079068
9780440229124
9780440416630
9781400099061
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10317831.i14699047Main Childrens - JFiction Taylor, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mj
ils:.b10317831.i20105885La Farge Childrens - JFiction Taylor, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lj
ils:.b13033025.i16503065Main Childrens Audiobook JCD spoken Fiction Taylor, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mjav
itype_santafeCD - Spoken
Regular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-26T10:20:05.677Z
lexile_score860
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeCD spoken Fiction Taylor, T
Fiction Taylor, T
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780440416630
publishDate1969
2005
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10317831BookBooksEnglishDoubleday, ©1969.137 pages ; 22 cm.
ils:.b13033025Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House/Listening Library, p2005.3 sound discs (ca. 72 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10317831.i14699047On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b10317831.i20105885On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b13033025.i16503065On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetAudiobooks
Blacks -- Fiction
Blacks -- Juvenile fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction
Prejudices -- Fiction
Prejudices -- Juvenile fiction
Shipwreck survival -- Juvenile fiction
Shipwrecks -- Fiction
Shipwrecks -- Juvenile fiction
Survival -- Fiction
West Indies -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayThe cay
title_fullThe cay / Theodore Taylor
The cay [sound recording] / Theodore Taylor
title_shortThe cay
topic_facetBlacks
Friendship
Prejudices
Shipwreck survival
Shipwrecks
Survival