Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

White houses: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a love story inspired by "one of the most intriguing relationships in history"*--between Eleanor Roosevelt and "first friend" Lorena Hickok. Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented herself as the most prominent woman reporter in America, "Hick," as she's known to her friends and admirers, is not quite instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. But then, as her connection with the future first lady deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. She moves into the White House, where her status as "first friend" is an open secret, as are FDR's own lovers. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death. Through it all, even as Hick's bond with Eleanor is tested by forces both extraordinary and common, and as she grows as a woman and a writer, she never loses sight of the love of her life. From Washington, D.C. to Hyde Park, from a little white house on Long Island to an apartment on Manhattan's Washington Square, Amy Bloom's new novel moves elegantly through fascinating places and times, written in compelling prose and with emotional depth, wit, and acuity. Advance praise for White Houses "Amy Bloom brings an untold slice of history so dazzlingly and devastatingly to life, it took my breath away." --Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife "A novel of the secret, scandalous love of Eleanor Roosevelt and her longtime friend and companion Lorena Hickok, who relates the tale in her own, quite wonderful voice." --Joyce Carol Oates "Lorena Hickok is a woman who found love with another lost soul, Eleanor Roosevelt. And love is what this book is all about: It suffuses every page, so that by the time you reach the end, you are simply stunned by the beauty of the world these two carved out for themselves." --Melanie Benjamin, author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue *
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812995664
9780525589921
9780812995671
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0825e8eb-06ea-1444-366b-fc3996084c3c
Grouping Titlewhite houses
Grouping Authoramy bloom
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-21 19:05:02PM
Last Indexed2020-09-22 04:19:21AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorAmy Bloom
author_displayBloom, Amy
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
La Farge Large Type
Main
Main Large Type
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside
display_descriptionLorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt's first presidential campaign. She is not instantly charmed by the idealistic, patrician Eleanor. As their connection deepens into intimacy, what begins as a powerful passion matures into a lasting love, and a life that Hick never expected to have. After she takes a job in the Roosevelt administration, promoting and protecting both Roosevelts, she comes to know Franklin not only as a great president but as a complicated rival and an irresistible friend, capable of changing lives even after his death.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
Large Print
eBook
id0825e8eb-06ea-1444-366b-fc3996084c3c
isbn9780525589921
9780812995664
9780812995671
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b15009543.i20053009MainFiction Bloom, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b15009543.i20053022SouthsideFiction Bloom, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b15009543.i20053010La FargeFiction Bloom, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
ils:.b15014794.o3371220Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderc
ils:.b15014794.i20062904Main Large TypeFiction Bloom, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mlt
ils:.b15014794.i20080050La Farge Large TypeFiction Bloom, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*llt
overdrive:02ae12e9-b2aa-42e7-8fc2-158540974d30-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-22T10:19:21.77Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Bloom, A
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup) On Order
primary_isbn9780812995664
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b15009543BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2018]x, 218 pages ; 25 cm.
ils:.b15014794Large PrintBooksEnglishRandom House Large Print, [2018]302 pages (large print) ; 24 cm.
overdrive:02ae12e9-b2aa-42e7-8fc2-158540974d30eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15009543.i20053009On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15009543.i20053022On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15009543.i20053010On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15014794.o3371220On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15014794.i20062904On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15014794.i20080050On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:02ae12e9-b2aa-42e7-8fc2-158540974d30-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAdultery -- Fiction
Biographical fiction
Hickok, Lorena A. -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Large type books
Presidents' spouses -- Fiction
Romance fiction
Roosevelt, Eleanor, -- 1884-1962 -- Fiction
Women journalists -- Fiction
title_displayWhite houses : a novel
title_fullWhite Houses A Novel
White houses : a novel / Amy Bloom
title_shortWhite houses
title_suba novel
topic_facetAdultery
Fiction
Hickok, Lorena A
Historical Fiction
Literature
Presidents' spouses
Roosevelt, Eleanor
Women journalists