Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Spin the dawn

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5 - AR Pts: 15
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 690L
Description
"Looking for your next big YA fantasy series? We've got our eye on this stylist blockbuster." -- Entertainment Weekly Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars. Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she'll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There's just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job. Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia's task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise. And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor's reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined. Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh. "Spin the Dawn is proof that casting a wider net not only gives us a fresh story that feels unlike everything else on the shelves beside it but also allows for richer and more nuanced storytelling." -- NPR "All the cutthroat competition of a runway fashion reality show and the thrilling exploits of an epic quest... a stunning tapestry of adventure." -- The Washington Post "What an amazing creation! Every time I thought I knew where it was going, I was wrong. This is a white-knuckle read." --Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Tempests and Slaughter
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525647003
9781984884541
9780525646990
9780525647010
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5, 15 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 690L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0a16c6f0-8156-51aa-f960-48e4811899bd
Grouping Titlespin the dawn
Grouping Authorelizabeth lim
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-12-01 08:38:48AM
Last Indexed2020-12-02 04:19:59AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value15
accelerated_reader_reading_level5
authorLim, Elizabeth,
author_displayLim, Elizabeth
available_at_santafeSouthside (Curbside Pickup)
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeOnline OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside Young Adult
display_descriptionDisguising herself as a boy to compete for the position of imperial tailor, Maia must somehow complete the impossible task of sewing three magic gowns for the emperor's bride-to-be from the sun's laughter, the moon's tears, and the blood of stars.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
eBook
id0a16c6f0-8156-51aa-f960-48e4811899bd
isbn9780525646990
9780525647003
9780525647010
9781984884541
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d299e0ee-b538-4e80-b69a-013bbcbf58da-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:6fface49-380d-4e9b-8972-ffe66ac244be-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b15236092.i20502060Southside Young AdultFiction Lim, E1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*cy
ils:.b15236092.o3651125Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordercy
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-12-02T11:19:59.756Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score690
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Lim, E
ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_santafeYear
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeSouthside (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup) On Order
primary_isbn9780525647003
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:d299e0ee-b538-4e80-b69a-013bbcbf58daeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2019
overdrive:6fface49-380d-4e9b-8972-ffe66ac244beeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2019
ils:.b15236092BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, [2019].392 pages : map ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d299e0ee-b538-4e80-b69a-013bbcbf58da-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:6fface49-380d-4e9b-8972-ffe66ac244be-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15236092.i20502060On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15236092.o3651125On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesThe Blood of Stars
series_with_volumeBlood of stars|1
subject_facetContests -- Fiction
Disguise -- Fiction
Fantasy
Fantasy fiction
Impostors and imposture -- Fiction
Magic -- Fiction
Tailors -- Fiction
Women tailors -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displaySpin the dawn
title_fullSpin the Dawn
Spin the dawn / Elizabeth Lim
title_shortSpin the dawn
topic_facetContests
Disguise
Fantasy
Impostors and imposture
Magic
Romance
Tailors
Women tailors
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult fiction