Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Night and day: a play

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Grove Press : distributed by Random House,
Pub. Date:
1979.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave , Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician--from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions-- working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780394505268
9780394170855
9780802142535
9780802101839
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1a7d3b4c-a9a0-d4e3-eee7-b0fde92465f4
Full title night and day a play
Author stoppard tom
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-02-20 04:19:32AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-18 04:21:02AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Stoppard, Tom.
author_display Stoppard, Tom
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 1a7d3b4c-a9a0-d4e3-eee7-b0fde92465f4
isbn 9780394170855, 9780394505268, 9780802101839, 9780802142535
item_details ils:.b10095081|.i10162823|Main|822.914 Sto|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-06-18T10:21:02.105Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe 822.914 Sto
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780394505268
publishDate 1979
record_details ils:.b10095081|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Grove Press : distributed by Random House,|1979.|x, 113 p. ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10095081 .i10162823 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
title_display Night and day : a play
title_full Night and day : a play / by Tom Stoppard
title_short Night and day :
title_sub a play