Night and day: a play

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Grove Press : distributed by Random House,
Pub. Date:
1979.
Edition:
1st ed.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential and Gelsey Kirkland's Dancing on My Grave , Mozart in the Jungle delves into the lives of the musicians and conductors who inhabit the insular world of classical music. In a book that inspired the Amazon Original series starring Gael García Bernal and Malcolm McDowell, oboist Blair Tindall recounts her decades-long professional career as a classical musician--from the recitals and Broadway orchestra performances to the secret life of musicians who survive hand to mouth in the backbiting New York classical music scene, where musicians trade sexual favors for plum jobs and assignments in orchestras across the city. Tindall and her fellow journeymen musicians often play drunk, high, or hopelessly hungover, live in decrepit apartments, and perform in hazardous conditions-- working-class musicians who schlep across the city between low-paying gigs, without health-care benefits or retirement plans, a stark contrast to the rarefied experiences of overpaid classical musician superstars. An incisive, no-holds-barred account, Mozart in the Jungle is the first true, behind-the-scenes look at what goes on backstage and in the Broadway pit.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780394505268
9780394170855
9780802142535
9780802101839
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1a7d3b4c-a9a0-d4e3-eee7-b0fde92465f4
Grouping Titlenight and day a play
Grouping Authorstoppard tom
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-03-24 04:21:00AM
Last Indexed2019-12-15 04:30:29AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorStoppard, Tom.
author_displayStoppard, Tom
available_at_santafeMain Library
detailed_location_santafeMain
display_description
format_category_santafeBooks
format_santafeBook
id1a7d3b4c-a9a0-d4e3-eee7-b0fde92465f4
isbn9780394170855
9780394505268
9780802101839
9780802142535
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10095081.i10162823Main822.914 Sto1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2019-12-15T11:30:29.176Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe822.914 Sto
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library
primary_isbn9780394505268
publishDate1979
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10095081BookBooks1st ed.EnglishGrove Press : distributed by Random House, 1979.x, 113 p. ; 21 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10095081.i10162823On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
title_displayNight and day : a play
title_fullNight and day : a play / by Tom Stoppard
title_shortNight and day
title_suba play