Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.
La Farge Branch Library is closed indefinitely for repairs.

The boat people

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the oboat peopleo are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks-and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525432463
9780385542296
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Grouping Title boat people
Grouping Author bala sharon
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-11 04:21:02AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-16 04:30:07AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Bala, Sharon,
author_display Bala, Sharon
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
isbn 9780385542296, 9780525432463
item_details ils:.b15000795|.i2002695x|Main|Fiction Bala, S|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 20, 2018||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-08-16T10:30:07.764Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Bala, S
local_time_since_added_santafe Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780525432463
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b15000795|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Doubleday,|[2018]|338 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15000795 .i2002695x Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
subject_facet Domestic fiction, Fathers and sons -- Fiction, Legal stories, Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_display The boat people
title_full The boat people / Sharon Bala
title_short The boat people
topic_facet Fathers and sons, Refugees