Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

The boat people

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Doubleday,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the oboat peopleo are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks-and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525432463
9780385542296
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Grouping Title boat people
Grouping Author bala sharon
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-05 04:17:45AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-20 04:32:15AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Bala, Sharon,
author_display Bala, Sharon
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
isbn 9780385542296, 9780525432463
item_details ils:.b15000795|.i2002695x|Main|Fiction Bala, S|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-10-20T10:32:15.547Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Bala, S
local_time_since_added_santafe Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780525432463
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b15000795|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Doubleday,|[2018]|338 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15000795 .i2002695x On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Domestic fiction, Fathers and sons -- Fiction, Legal stories, Refugees -- Canada -- Fiction
title_display The boat people
title_full The boat people / Sharon Bala
title_short The boat people
topic_facet Fathers and sons, Refugees