Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

The comfort food diaries: my quest for the perfect dish to mend a broken heart

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Atria Books,
Pub. Date:
2017.
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language:
English
Description
NPR's Best Books of 2017 Best Books on Food of 2017, The Guardian Best Food-Focused Memoirs, Eater Top 10 Narrative Food & Drink Books, Booklist 20 Best Cookbooks, The Telegraph In the tradition of Elizabeth Gilbert and Ruth Reichl, former New Yorker editor Emily Nunn chronicles her journey to heal old wounds and find comfort in the face of loss through travel, home-cooked food, and the company of friends and family. One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved brother's sudden death, a devastating breakup with her handsome engineer fiancé and eviction from the apartment they shared, Emily Nunn had lost all sense of family, home, and financial security. After a few glasses of wine, heartbroken and unmoored, Emily--an avid cook and professional food writer--poured her heart out on Facebook. The next morning she woke up with an awful hangover and a feeling she'd made a terrible mistake--only to discover she had more friends than she knew, many of whom invited her to come visit and cook with them while she put her life back together. Thus began the Comfort Food Tour. Searching for a way forward, Emily travels the country, cooking and staying with relatives and friends. She also travels back to revisit scenes from her dysfunctional Southern upbringing, dominated by her dramatic, unpredictable mother and her silent, disengaged father. Her wonderfully idiosyncratic aunts and uncles and cousins come to life in these pages, all part of the rich Southern story in which past and present are indistinguishable, food is a source of connection and identity, and a good story is often preferred to a not-so-pleasant truth. But truth, pleasant or not, is what Emily Nunn craves, and with it comes an acceptance of the losses she has endured, and a sense of hope for the future. In the salty snap of a single Virginia ham biscuit, in the sour tang of Grandmother's Lemon Cake, Nunn experiences the healing power of comfort food--and offers up dozens of recipes for the wonderful meals that saved her life. With the biting humor of David Sedaris and the emotional honesty of Cheryl Strayed, Nunn delivers a moving account of her descent into darkness and her gradual, hard-won return to the living.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781451674200
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 29fd6205-5451-11f4-94be-793aae8df99a
Grouping Title comfort food diaries my quest for the perfect dish to mend a broken heart
Grouping Author nunn emily
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-14 04:21:13AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 04:20:59AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Nunn, Emily,
author_display Nunn, Emily
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main, Southside
display_description A former "New Yorker" editor chronicles her quest to overcome the convergence of the sudden loss of her brother, being dumped by her fiancé, and being evicted from her apartment by cooking her way across the country while staying with friends and family. "There's no real logic to where we start out and what we end up with. It's like cooking. Once you get your ingredients, how you put them together at any given time is up to you: it's your responsibility to create something good. ... It helps to have a high tolerance for disasters, in the kitchen or otherwise. One life-changing night, reeling from her beloved brother's sudden death, a devastating breakup with her handsome engineer fiancé, and eviction from the apartment they shared, Emily Nunn had lost all sense of family, home, and financial security. After a few glasses of wine, heartbroken and unmoored, Emily--an avid cook and professional food writer--decided to pour her heart out on Facebook. The next morning, she woke up with an awful hangover and a feeling she'd made a terrible mistake--only to discover she had more friends than she knew, many of whom invited her to come visit and cook with them as she put her life back together. Thus began the Comfort Food Tour. Searching for a way forward, Emily travels the country, cooking and staying with family and friends. She also travels back home to revisit scenes from her dysfunctional Southern upbringing, dominated by her dramatic, unpredictable mother and her silent, disengaged father. Her wonderfully idiosyncratic relatives come alive in these pages, all part of the rich Southern story in which past and present are indistinguishable, food is a source of connection and identity, and a good story is often preferred to a not-so-pleasant truth. But truth, pleasant or not, is what Emily Nunn craves, and with it comes an acceptance of the losses she has endured, and a sense of hope for the future. In the salty snap of a single Virginia ham biscuit and the sour tang of Great-grandmother's Mean Lemon Cake, she experiences the healing power of comfort food--and serves up dozens of recipes for the wonderful dishes that saved her life. With biting humor and luminous prose, Emily Nunn delivers a moving account of her descent into darkness and her hard-won return to the living."--Jacket.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 29fd6205-5451-11f4-94be-793aae8df99a
isbn 9781451674200
item_details ils:.b14938716|.i19950184|Main|641.5973 Nun|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||, ils:.b14938716|.i1995329x|Southside|641.5973 Nun|||1|false|false|||||ON HOLDSHELF||co||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-07-16T10:20:59.992Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe 641.5973 Nun
local_time_since_added_santafe Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9781451674200
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b14938716|Book|Books|First Atria Books hardcover edition.|English|Atria Books,|2017.|viii, 310 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14938716 .i1995329x Checked Out ON HOLDSHELF false false true false false true 999
ils:.b14938716 .i19950184 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Autobiographies, Comfort food, Cookbooks, Cooking, American, Food writers -- United States -- Biography, Life change events, Nunn, Emily
title_display The comfort food diaries : my quest for the perfect dish to mend a broken heart
title_full The comfort food diaries : my quest for the perfect dish to mend a broken heart / Emily Nunn
title_short The comfort food diaries :
title_sub my quest for the perfect dish to mend a broken heart
topic_facet Comfort food, Cooking, American, Food writers, Life change events, Nunn, Emily