Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Before we were yours: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 18
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 760L
Description
THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT--A New York Times , USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a "thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal."* Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. * Library Journal Publishers Weekly's #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 * Winner of the Southern Book Prize * If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection "A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets." -- People "Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you'll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann's legacy." -- Parade "One of the year's best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel." -- The Huffington Post
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780425284681
9780425284698
9781524780692
9781432839123
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 760L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 2aa6db5e-70d2-faa1-1436-d757156026c0
Grouping Title before we were yours
Grouping Author wingate lisa
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-12-10 16:20:42PM
Last Indexed 2018-12-10 16:21:07PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 18
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.1
author Lisa Wingate
author_display Wingate, Lisa
detailed_location_santafe La Farge, La Farge New Books, Main, Main Large Type, Online OverDrive Collection, Southside
display_description "Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"-- "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either +to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
format_category_santafe Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
id 2aa6db5e-70d2-faa1-1436-d757156026c0
isbn 9780425284681, 9780425284698, 9781432839123, 9781524780692
item_details ils:.b14910731|.i19891659|Southside|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 26, 2018||co||, ils:.b14910731|.i19935328|La Farge New Books|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 11, 2018||l14dy||, ils:.b14910731|.i19942515|Main|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Jan 7, 2019||mn||, ils:.b14910731|.i19942527|La Farge|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Jan 3, 2019||lf||, ils:.b14910731|.i19993596|Main|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 5, 2018||mn||, ils:.b14910731|.i20107596|Main|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 9, 2018||mn||, ils:.b1494523x|.i19880194|Main Large Type|Fiction Wingate, L|||1|false|false|||||Due Dec 18, 2018||mlt||, overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_santafe , 14 day books, Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-12-10T23:21:07.99Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 760
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Wingate, L
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Oliver La Farge Branch, Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9780425284681
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b14910731|Book|Books||English|Ballantine Books,|[2017].|342 pages ; 25 cm., ils:.b1494523x|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning,|2017.|605 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2017|, overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14910731 .i20107596 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b14910731 .i19935328 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b14910731 .i19942527 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b14910731 .i19993596 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b14910731 .i19942515 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b14910731 .i19891659 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
ils:.b1494523x .i19880194 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 9999
overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print core
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print core|
subject_facet Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Domestic fiction, Fiction -- Contemporary Women, Fiction -- Historical, Fiction -- Literary, Historical fiction, Large type books, Orphanages -- Fiction
title_display Before we were yours : a novel
title_full Before We Were Yours A Novel, Before we were yours / Lisa Wingate, Before we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate
title_short Before we were yours :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Brothers and sisters, Contemporary Women, Domestic fiction, Fiction, Historical, Historical Fiction, Large type books, Literary, Literature, Orphanages