All buildings are CLOSED until further notice, click here for our interim services. Please visit our digital content here.

Before we were yours: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(4)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 18
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 760L
Description
THE BLOCKBUSTER HIT--Over two million copies sold! A New York Times , USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller Look for Lisa Wingate's powerful new historical novel, The Book of Lost Friends, available now! "Poignant, engrossing."-- People * "Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation's history and weaves a tale of enduring power."--Paula McLain Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong. Publishers Weekly's #3 Longest-Running Bestseller of 2017 * Winner of the Southern Book Prize * If All Arkansas Read the Same Book Selection
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780425284681
9781524780692
9780425284698
9781984833037
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 18 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 760L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2aa6db5e-70d2-faa1-1436-d757156026c0
Grouping Titlebefore we were yours
Grouping Authorwingate lisa
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-06-03 22:49:27PM
Last Indexed2020-06-03 22:50:21PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value18
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.1
auth_author2Rankin, Emily,
authorLisa Wingate
author2-roleRankin, Emily,narrator.
author_displayWingate, Lisa
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside
Southside AV
display_description"Memphis, Tennessee, 1936. The five Foss children find their lives changed forever when their parents leave them alone on the family shantyboat one stormy night. Rill Foss, just twelve years old, must protect her four younger siblings as they are wrenched from their home on the Mississippi and thrown into the care of the infamous Georgia Tann, director of the Tennessee Children's Home Society. South Carolina, Present Day. Avery Stafford has lived a charmed life. Loving daughter to her father, a U.S. Senator, she has a promising career as an assistant D.A. in Baltimore and is engaged to her best friend. But when Avery comes home to help her father weather a health crisis and a political attack, a chance encounter with a stranger leaves her deeply shaken. Avery's decision to learn more about the woman's life will take her on a journey through her family's long-hidden history"-- "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either +to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id2aa6db5e-70d2-faa1-1436-d757156026c0
isbn9780425284681
9780425284698
9781524780692
9781984833037
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b14910731.i19942527La FargeFiction Wingate, L1falsefalseDue May 18, 2020lf
ils:.b14910731.i19891659SouthsideFiction Wingate, L1falsefalseON HOLDSHELFco
ils:.b14910731.i20107596MainFiction Wingate, L1falsefalseON HOLDSHELFmn
ils:.b14910731.i19993596MainFiction Wingate, L1falsefalseDue May 18, 2020mn
ils:.b14910731.i19942515MainFiction Wingate, L1falsefalseDue Jun 25, 2020mn
ils:.b15225331.o3636768Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordercav
ils:.b15225331.i20475007Southside AVCD spoken Fiction Wingate, L1falsefalseDue Jun 10, 2020cav
overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_santafeCD - Spoken
Regular Circ
last_indexed2020-06-04T04:50:21.79Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score760
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_santafeCD spoken Fiction Wingate, L
Fiction Wingate, L
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
Southside Branch On Order
primary_isbn9780425284681
publishDate2017
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2017
ils:.b14910731BookBooksEnglishBallantine Books, [2017].342 pages ; 25 cm.
ils:.b15225331Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio, [2018]12 audio discs (14.5 hrs.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6a0b0adf-a1f6-4962-a37c-0540836be178-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14910731.i19942527Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14910731.i19891659Checked OutON HOLDSHELFfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14910731.i20107596Checked OutON HOLDSHELFfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14910731.i19993596Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14910731.i19942515Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15225331.o3636768On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15225331.i20475007Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:57d18822-c382-4ae7-882a-208272b39ed6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Domestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Fiction -- Contemporary Women
Fiction -- Historical
Fiction -- Literary
Historical fiction
Orphanages -- Fiction
Poor children -- Fiction
Tennessee -- Fiction
title_displayBefore we were yours : a novel
title_fullBefore We Were Yours A Novel
Before we were yours : a novel / Lisa Wingate
title_shortBefore we were yours
title_suba novel
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
Contemporary Women
Family secrets
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Literary
Literature
Orphanages
Poor children