Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

A quiet kind of thunder

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Simon Pulse,
Pub. Date:
[2018]
Edition:
Simon Pulse hardcover edition.
Language:
English
Description
A girl who can't speak and a boy who can't hear go on a journey of self-discovery and find support with each other in this gripping, emotionally resonant novel from bestselling author Sara Barnard. Perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jandy Nelson. Steffi doesn't talk, but she has so much to say. Rhys can't hear, but he can listen. Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life. The condition's name has always felt ironic to her, because she certainly does not "select" not to speak. In fact, she would give anything to be able to speak as easily and often as everyone around her can. She suffers from crippling anxiety, and uncontrollably, in most situations simply can't open her mouth to get out the words. Steffi's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to help him acclimate. To Rhys, it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk. As they find ways to communicate, Steffi discovers that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it. But as she starts to overcome a lifelong challenge, she'll soon confront questions about the nature of her own identity and the very essence of what it is to know another person.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781534402416
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 32e9b3c0-5ab9-f8f4-55d3-8166d408d8ca
Full title quiet kind of thunder
Author barnard sara
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-04-09 04:18:06AM
Last Indexed 2018-05-26 04:24:50AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Barnard, Sara,
author_display Barnard, Sara
available_at_santafe Main Library, Southside Branch
collection_santafe On Order
detailed_location_santafe Main YA New, Santa Fe Public Library On Order, Southside YA New
display_description Steffi doesn't talk. Rhys can't hear. They understand each other perfectly. Love isn't always a lightning strike. Sometimes it's the rumbling roll of thunder ... Steffi has been a selective mute for most of her life - she's been silent for so long that she feels completely invisible. But Rhys, the new boy at school, sees her. He's deaf, and her knowledge of basic sign language means that she's assigned to look after him. To Rhys it doesn't matter that Steffi doesn't talk and, as they find ways to communicate, Steffi finds that she does have a voice, and that she's falling in love with the one person who makes her feel brave enough to use it.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 32e9b3c0-5ab9-f8f4-55d3-8166d408d8ca
isbn 9781534402416
item_details ils:.b15010375|.i20031531|Southside YA New|Fiction Barnard, S|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||cynew||, ils:.b15010375|.i20038082|Main YA New|Fiction Barnard, S|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mynew||, ils:.b15010375|.o3364628|Santa Fe Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||1|true|false|||||On Order||cy||, ils:.b15010375|.o3364628|Santa Fe Public Library On Order|ON ORDER|||1|true|false|||||On Order||my||
itype_santafe , Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-05-26T10:24:50.135Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Barnard, S, ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_santafe Six Months, Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library, Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Main Library On Order, Southside Branch, Southside Branch On Order
primary_isbn 9781534402416
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b15010375|Book|Books|Simon Pulse hardcover edition.|English|Simon Pulse,|[2018]|390 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe ils:.b15010375|.i20031531|On Shelf|*CHECK SHELF*|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b15010375|.i20038082|On Shelf|*CHECK SHELF*|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||, ils:.b15010375|.o3364628|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, ils:.b15010375|.o3364628|On Order|On Order|false|false|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Coming of age -- Fiction, Deaf -- Fiction, Deaf youth -- Juvenile fiction, Love -- Fiction, Romance fiction, Selective mutism -- Fiction, Selective mutism -- Juvenile fiction, Sign language -- Juvenile fiction, Young adult fiction, Youth with disabilities -- Juvenile fiction
title_display A quiet kind of thunder
title_full A quiet kind of thunder / Sara Barnard
title_short A quiet kind of thunder
topic_facet Coming of age, Deaf, Deaf youth, Love, Selective mutism, Sign language, Youth with disabilities