Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.
La Farge Branch Library is closed indefinitely for repairs.

The intuitionist

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Anchor Books,
Pub. Date:
1999.
Edition:
1st Anchor books ed.
Language:
English
Description
It is a time of calamity in a major metropolitan city's Department of Elevator Inspectors, and Lila Mae Watson, the first black female elevator inspector in the history of the department, is at the center of it.  There are two warring factions within the department:  the Empiricists, who work by the book and dutifully check for striations on the winch cable and such; and the Intuitionists, who are simply able to enter the elevator cab in question, meditate, and intuit any defects.   Lila Mae is an Intuitionist and, it just so happens, has the highest accuracy rate in the entire department.  But when an elevator in a new city building goes into total freefall on Lila Mae's watch, chaos ensues.  It's an election year in the Elevator Guild, and the good-old-boy Empiricists would love nothing more than to assign the blame to an Intuitionist.  But Lila Mae is never wrong. The sudden appearance of excerpts from the lost notebooks of Intuitionism's founder, James Fulton, has also caused quite a stir.  The notebooks describe Fulton's work on the "black box," a perfect elevator that could reinvent the city as radically as the first passenger elevator did when patented by Elisha Otis in the nineteenth century.  When Lila Mae goes underground to investigate the crash, she becomes involved in the search for the portions of the notebooks that are still missing and uncovers a secret that will change her life forever. A dead-serious and seriously funny feat of the imagination,The Intuitionistis a brilliant debut by an exceptional young talent.  Its sidesplitting humor is accompanied by a sobering examination of race--how it causes people to act and what it causes them to believe about themselves and others.  In the tradition of Ralph Ellison, Colson Whitehead artfully crosses back and forth over racial, political, and artistic borders to create a work of stunning depth,  soulfulness, and originality, starring one of the most intriguing heroines in contemporary fiction.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385493000
9780385492997
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 39cc5450-b204-ad7e-4b32-4b3169bf9573
Grouping Title intuitionist
Grouping Author whitehead colson
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-11 04:21:02AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-13 04:18:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Whitehead, Colson, 1969-
author_display Whitehead, Colson
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description An elevator inspector becomes the center of controversy when an elevator crashes. The inspector, Lila Mae Watson, is a black woman who inspects by intuition, as opposed to visual observation, and now she must prove her method was not at fault. A study of society's attitude to technology and a debut in fiction.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 39cc5450-b204-ad7e-4b32-4b3169bf9573
isbn 9780385492997, 9780385493000
item_details ils:.b15059686|.i20122901|Main|Fiction Whitehead, C|||1|false|false|||||ON HOLDSHELF||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-08-13T10:18:38.304Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Whitehead, C
local_time_since_added_santafe Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780385493000
publishDate 1999
record_details ils:.b15059686|Book|Books|1st Anchor books ed.|English|Anchor Books,|1999.|255 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15059686 .i20122901 Checked Out ON HOLDSHELF false false true false false true 999
subject_facet African American women -- Fiction, Detective and mystery fiction, Elevators -- Inspection -- Fiction, Humorous fiction, Humorous stories
title_display The intuitionist
title_full The intuitionist / Colson Whitehead
title_short The intuitionist
topic_facet African American women, Elevators, Humorous stories, Inspection