Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Betrayals

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Ballantine Books,
Pub. Date:
1995.
Edition:
1st American ed.
Language:
English
Description
At once a hypnotic murder mystery, scathing literary parody, soap opera, and brilliant pastiche, Betrayals is an astonishing virtuouso performance by a modern master of literary gamesmanship in the tradition of Vladimir Nabokov and John Barth. The novel unforlds in a series of seemingly unrelated narratives, each written in a different style -- indeed, in a different genre. There is an obituary for a Scottish scientist and Nobel Prize winner, written by a colleague who clearly relishes his death. Early in the century, a train in the Scottish Highlands heads down the wrong track during a winter snowstorm, and the passengers are forced to abandon the train, resulting in the death -- or is it murder? -- of one of them. An inane publisher's reader summarizes the plot of a tacky hospital romance novel, which ends in a gory murder all too reminiscent of Jack the Ripper. Even a report on a contemporary academic controversy explodes into a scandal of plagiarism, shattered reputations, paranoia, and suicide -- or is it murder made to look as such? As Palliser deftly teases out each new situation, it becomes clear that they are all variations on a single outrageous theme: a distinguished figure in some intellectual pursuit -- science, literature, academia -- becomes obsessed with the success of a rival and schemes his demise, only to botch the job out of sheer monomania. Like the scorpion that stings itself to death, each plotter becomes a victim of his own plot; each betrayer changes places with the betrayed in an intricate dance of deception, revenge, and revelation. A challenging, engrossing, utterly original work of art, Betrayals is also pure joy to read -- a book that will make you laugh out loud, turn pages madly in pursuit of the next plot twist, and above all, marvel at the supreme ingenuity of a fictional puzzle in which the unlikeliest pieces fit together perfectly. From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345404350
9780345369598
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 3c366cc9-5985-dc48-5777-058b27cab252
Grouping Title betrayals
Grouping Author palliser charles
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-24 04:18:14AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-15 04:29:06AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Palliser, Charles, 1947-
author_display Palliser, Charles
available_at_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge
display_description
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 3c366cc9-5985-dc48-5777-058b27cab252
isbn 9780345369598, 9780345404350
item_details ils:.b1122132x|.i15599413|La Farge|Fiction Palliser, C|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||lf||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-10-15T10:29:06.761Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Palliser, C
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch
primary_isbn 9780345404350
publishDate 1995
record_details ils:.b1122132x|Book|Books|1st American ed.|English|Ballantine Books,|1995.|353 p. ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1122132x .i15599413 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Betrayal -- Fiction, Experimental fiction, Frame-stories, Literary recreations -- Fiction, Satire, Scotland -- Fiction
title_display Betrayals
title_full Betrayals / Charles Palliser
title_short Betrayals
topic_facet Betrayal, Literary recreations