Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

A natural: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From dreams of soccer glory to the realities of the minor leagues, the high-stakes world of English football comes to life in this vivid coming-of-age novel for fans of Nick Hornby and The Art of Fielding . After his unceremonious release from a Premier League academy at nineteen, Tom feels his bright future slipping away. The only contract offer he receives is from a lower-level club. Away from home for the first time, Tom struggles on and off the field, anxious to avoid the cruel pranks and hazing rituals of his teammates. Then a taboo encounter upends what little stability he has, forcing Tom to reconcile his suppressed desires with his drive to succeed. Meanwhile, the team's popular captain, Chris, is in denial about the state of his marriage. His wife, Leah, has almost forgotten the dreams she once held for her career. As her husband is transferred from club to club, and raising their first child practically on her own, she is lost, disillusioned with where life has taken her. A Natural delves into the heart of a professional soccer club: the pressure, the loneliness, the threat of scandal, the fragility of the body, and the struggle of conforming to the person everybody else expects you to be. Praise for A Natural "This is a bold novel. [Raisin has a] deep and unwavering empathy for others, and an ability to find flashes of beauty in life's unforgiving ugliness. His language might be spare, but his turn of phrase is strikingly elegant. . . . The way is lit by his keen perceptions; the novel suggests the frustrations that arise when lived experience fails to align with what was imagined, and analyzes the gap between spectatorship and participation. . . . If Raisin has chosen to focus on that which stifles rather than frees us, he has done so to demonstrate precisely why we need all the things that society and circumstance suppress. . . . The confidence and skill with which he pursues his vision is not just persuasive, it's powerful." -- The New York Times Book Review "Raisin's transporting and acutely observed novel speaks to us all. First-rate." -- Booklist (starred review) "An intimate picture of life in the lower reaches of professional British football . . . a bold theme . . . is rendered with restraint and sympathy. . . . [ A Natural ] is a sensitive treatment of very different kinds of solitude and pain." -- Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525508779
9781681688305
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 5bf68408-62e5-571e-fa9a-e3617e4fe34f
Grouping Title natural
Grouping Author raisin ross
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-24 04:18:14AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 04:42:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Grindell, Shaun.
author Raisin, Ross, 1979-
author2-role Grindell, Shaun., hoopla digital.
author_display Raisin, Ross
available_at_santafe Main Library, Oliver La Farge Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge, Main, Online Hoopla Collection
display_description Give it Tom. Every lunchtime, every P.E. game, bouncing off the walls for years. Give it Tom. Give it Tom. Tom Pearman has been tipped for football stardom all his young life. But after spending his teenage years training with a Premier League team, the bright future he imagined for himself disappears from one day to the next when he finds out his club has decided to let him go. Now he's nineteen, away from home, playing for a tiny club in a town he doesn't know. Shy and introverted - but desperate for recognition - Tom finds himself forced to navigate the dominant personalities and shifting relationships that rule the team. Along the way, he will also be forced to question whether he can reconcile his own desires with professional success.
format_category_santafe Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, eAudiobook
id 5bf68408-62e5-571e-fa9a-e3617e4fe34f
isbn 9780525508779, 9781681688305
item_details hoopla:MWT11974403||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11974403||Available Online||||, ils:.b1497261x|.i19961078|La Farge|Fiction Raisin, R|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||lf||, ils:.b1497261x|.i1996108x|Main|Fiction Raisin, R|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe , Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-11-20T11:42:05.311Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Raisin, R
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Oliver La Farge Branch
primary_isbn 9780525508779
publishDate 2017
record_details hoopla:MWT11974403|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|HighBridge,|2017.|1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 41 min.)) : digital., ils:.b1497261x|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|[2017]|386 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1497261x .i1996108x On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b1497261x .i19961078 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
hoopla:MWT11974403 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Soccer players -- England -- Fiction, Soccer stories, English
title_display A natural : a novel
title_full A natural : a novel / Ross Raisin, A natural [electronic resource] / Ross Raisin
title_short A natural :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Soccer players, Soccer stories, English