All buildings are CLOSED until further notice, click here for our interim services. Please visit our digital content here.

We were beautiful

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description

The trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal.

It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her.

As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig--blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious--who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends--including Cooper, the artistic boy who's always on Mia's mind--she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past.

Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal ... especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died.

We Were Beautiful is:

A unique coming of age story about tragedy, forgiveness, and love Written by acclaimed, award-winning author Heather Hepler Perfect for fans of Robyn Schneider and Justina Chen. A poignant, clean YA romance unafraid to explore serious contemporary life issues
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780310766438
9780310766384
9780310768647
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID6eaeccd8-fa20-d26b-5c74-5f12fb01e45d
Grouping Titlewe were beautiful
Grouping Authorhepler heather
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-04-30 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed2020-07-07 04:35:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Wells, Misty,
authorHepler, Heather.
author2-roleWells, Misty,Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayHepler, Heather
available_at_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge Young Adult
Main Young Adult
Online Hoopla Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside YA New
display_descriptionThe trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal. It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her. As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig--blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious--who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends--including Cooper, the artistic boy who's always on Mia's mind--she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past. Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal ... especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died. It's been a year since Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty. As the family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met, stuck with a summer job in the kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig and Cooper, and comes to realize she's not the only one with a painful past. -- adapted from back cover.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
id6eaeccd8-fa20-d26b-5c74-5f12fb01e45d
isbn9780310766384
9780310766438
9780310768647
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12334525Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12334525?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b15192441.o3597246Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordercy
ils:.b15192441.i20387428Southside YA NewFiction Hepler, H1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*cynew
ils:.b15192441.o3595742Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderly
ils:.b15192441.i20387404Main Young AdultFiction Hepler, H1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*my
ils:.b15192441.o3597246Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordermy
ils:.b15192441.i20378750La Farge Young AdultFiction Hepler, H1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*ly
hoopla:MWT12348750Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12348750Available Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-07-07T10:35:14.246Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Hepler, H
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library
Main Library On Order
Oliver La Farge Branch
Oliver La Farge Branch On Order
Southside Branch
Southside Branch On Order
primary_isbn9780310766438
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT12334525eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishZondervan, 2019.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 11 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b15192441BookBooksEnglishBlink, 2019.297 pages ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT12348750eBookeBookEnglishZondervan, 2019.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15192441.o3597246On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15192441.i20387428On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15192441.o3595742On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15192441.i20387404On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15192441.o3597246On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15192441.i20378750On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
hoopla:MWT12348750Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetDisfigured persons -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Grandmothers -- Fiction
Grief -- Fiction
Guilt -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displayWe were beautiful
title_fullWe Were Beautiful [electronic resource] / Heather Hepler
We were beautiful / Heather Hepler
We were beautiful [electronic resource] / Heather Hepler
title_shortWe were beautiful
topic_facetDisfigured persons
Electronic books
Friendship
Grandmothers
Grief
Guilt