We were beautiful

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2019.
Language:
English
Description

The trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal.

It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her.

As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig--blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious--who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends--including Cooper, the artistic boy who's always on Mia's mind--she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past.

Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal ... especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died.

We Were Beautiful is:

A unique coming of age story about tragedy, forgiveness, and love Written by acclaimed, award-winning author Heather Hepler Perfect for fans of Robyn Schneider and Justina Chen. A poignant, clean YA romance unafraid to explore serious contemporary life issues
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780310766438
9780310766384
9780310768647
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6eaeccd8-fa20-d26b-5c74-5f12fb01e45d
Grouping Title we were beautiful
Grouping Author hepler heather
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-08-18 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed 2019-08-20 04:27:52AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Wells, Misty,
author Hepler, Heather.
author2-role Wells, Misty,Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_display Hepler, Heather
available_at_santafe Main Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
collection_santafe On Order
detailed_location_santafe La Farge YA New
Main YA New
Online Hoopla Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside YA New
display_description The trace amount of alcohol in her bloodstream. The tremendous amount of guilt on her shoulders. A severely scarred face that is a daily reminder of the car crash that killed her sister. But when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the night Rachel died, the shocking truth might be as jarring as the crunch of metal. It's been a year since fifteen-year-old Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The doctors tell her she was lucky to survive. Her therapist says it will take time to heal. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty at best. She's left with accusations, rumors, and guilt so powerful it is quickly consuming her. As the rest of Mia's family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met. All Mia wants to do is hide from the world, but instead she's stuck with a summer job in the bustling kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig--blue-haired, friendly, and vivacious--who takes Mia under her wing. As Mia gets to know Fig and her friends--including Cooper, the artistic boy who's always on Mia's mind--she realizes that she's not the only one with a painful past. Over the summer, Mia starts to learn that redemption isn't as impossible as she once thought, but her scars inside run deep and aren't nearly so simple to heal ... especially when Mia finally pieces together her memories of the awful night Rachel died. It's been a year since Mia Hopkins was in a car crash that killed her older sister, Rachel, and left her own face terribly scarred. The police reports claim there were trace amounts of alcohol in her bloodstream. But no matter how much she tries to reconstruct the events of that fateful night, Mia's memory is spotty. As the family struggles with their own grief, Mia is sent to New York City to spend the summer with a grandmother she's never met, stuck with a summer job in the kitchens of the café down the street. There she meets Fig and Cooper, and comes to realize she's not the only one with a painful past. -- adapted from back cover.
format_category_santafe Books
eBook
format_santafe Book
eBook
id 6eaeccd8-fa20-d26b-5c74-5f12fb01e45d
isbn 9780310766384
9780310766438
9780310768647
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12334525 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12334525 Available Online
ils:.b15192441 .o3595742 Santa Fe Public Library On Order ON ORDER 1 true false On Order ly
ils:.b15192441 .i20387404 Main YA New Fiction Hepler, H 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* mynew
ils:.b15192441 .i20378750 La Farge YA New Fiction Hepler, H 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* lynew
ils:.b15192441 .o3597246 Santa Fe Public Library On Order ON ORDER 1 true false On Order my
ils:.b15192441 .i20387428 Southside YA New Fiction Hepler, H 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* cynew
ils:.b15192441 .o3597246 Santa Fe Public Library On Order ON ORDER 1 true false On Order cy
hoopla:MWT12348750 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eBook eBook 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12348750 Available Online
itype_santafe
Regular Circ
last_indexed 2019-08-20T10:27:52.176Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Hepler, H
ON ORDER
local_time_since_added_santafe Six Months
Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafe Main Library
Main Library On Order
Oliver La Farge Branch
Oliver La Farge Branch On Order
Southside Branch
Southside Branch On Order
primary_isbn 9780310766438
publishDate 2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT12334525 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Zondervan, 2019. 1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 11 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b15192441 Book Books English Blink, 2019. 297 pages ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT12348750 eBook eBook English Zondervan, 2019. 1 online resource
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15192441 .o3595742 On Order On Order false false true false false true
ils:.b15192441 .i20387404 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b15192441 .i20378750 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b15192441 .o3597246 On Order On Order false false true false false true
ils:.b15192441 .i20387428 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b15192441 .o3597246 On Order On Order false false true false false true
hoopla:MWT12348750 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Disfigured persons -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Friendship -- Fiction
Grandmothers -- Fiction
Grief -- Fiction
Guilt -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_display We were beautiful
title_full We Were Beautiful [electronic resource] / Heather Hepler
We were beautiful / Heather Hepler
We were beautiful [electronic resource] / Heather Hepler
title_short We were beautiful
topic_facet Disfigured persons
Electronic books
Friendship
Grandmothers
Grief
Guilt