No Curbside Pickup today (10/27) due to weather. Click here for our interim services.

First love and other sorrows: stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
These short stories filled with "narrative grace and rare craftsmanship " chronicle the loss of innocence and the anguish of young love ( San Francisco Chronicle ). First Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch--and with him the world of privilege. Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother--each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society--these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781480427976
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID79531f0b-10d1-84c5-2139-440875aa25f7
Grouping Titlefirst love and other sorrows
Grouping Authorharold brodkey
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 00:02:01AM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 04:20:30AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBrodkey, Harold.
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayBrodkey, Harold
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeMain
Online Hoopla Collection
display_descriptionIn the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young love First Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch-and with him the world of privilege. Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother-each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society-these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
id79531f0b-10d1-84c5-2139-440875aa25f7
isbn9781480427976
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11549603Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11549603Available Online
ils:.b10533308.i18339244MainFiction Brodkey, H1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-10-27T10:20:30.993Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formUnknown
literary_form_fullUnknown
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Brodkey, H
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9781480427976
publishDate1957
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11549603eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media, 2013.1 online resource
ils:.b10533308BookBooksEnglishDial Press, 1957.223 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11549603Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b10533308.i18339244On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetElectronic books
Short stories, American -- 20th century
title_displayFirst love and other sorrows
title_fullFirst love and other sorrows : stories [electronic resource] / Harold Brodkey
First love and other sorrows Brodkey, Harold.
title_shortFirst love and other sorrows
title_substories
topic_facetElectronic books
Short stories, American