All buildings are CLOSED until further notice, click here for our interim services. Please visit our digital content here.

Misery: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Scribner,
Pub. Date:
2016.
Edition:
First Scribner trade paperback edition.
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
860L
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY"The Washington Post - Kansas City Star - BookPage - Bookish" Who is A. N. Dyer? "& Sons" is a literary masterwork for readers of "The Art of Fielding, The Emperor's Children, "and "Wonder Boys"--the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide. The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan's Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in "The New York Times "notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel "Ampersand" stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, ""he suffers a breakdown over the life he's led and the people he's hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years--before it's too late. So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there's son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired "Ampersand." But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family. In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. "& Sons" is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality. NATIONAL BESTSELLER - A "NEW YORK TIMES "EDITORS' CHOICE "Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny."--Jess Walter, author of "Beautiful Ruins" "Extraordinary."--"Time" "Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, "& Sons"] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term 'instant classic.'"--NPR "A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . "& Sons"] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters' memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail."--Michiko Kakutani, "The New York Times"" " " A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.""--Entertainment Weekly" "This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family."--"The Boston Globe" "Audacious . . . one of the year's] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction."--"The Washington Post"
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501143106
Lexile measure:
860L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7d7a9db2-4a77-c29a-9d95-7446d45318e7
Grouping Titlemisery
Grouping Authorking stephen
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-02-01 04:12:26AM
Last Indexed2020-07-05 04:39:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKing, Stephen, 1947-
author_displayKing, Stephen
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeSanta Fe Public Library On Order
display_description
format_category_santafeBooks
format_santafeBook
id7d7a9db2-4a77-c29a-9d95-7446d45318e7
isbn9781501143106
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b15274196.o3697149Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderm
last_indexed2020-07-05T10:39:36.511Z
lexile_score860
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeON ORDER
local_time_since_added_santafe2 Months
Day
Month
On Order
Quarter
Six Months
Week
Year
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library On Order
primary_isbn9781501143106
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b15274196BookBooksFirst Scribner trade paperback edition.EnglishScribner, 2016.351 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15274196.o3697149On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetFans (Persons) -- Fiction
Horror fiction
Novelists -- Fiction
title_displayMisery : a novel
title_fullMisery : a novel / Stephen King
title_shortMisery
title_suba novel
topic_facetFans (Persons)
Novelists