Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The girls: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * An indelible portrait of girls, the women they become, and that moment in life when everything can go horribly wrong--this stunning first novel is perfect for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides's  The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan's A Visit from the Goon Squad . Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged--a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence. Emma Cline's remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction. Praise for The Girls "Spellbinding . . . A seductive and arresting coming-of-age story hinged on Charles Manson, told in sentences at times so finely wrought they could almost be worn as jewelry . . . [Emma] Cline gorgeously maps the topography of one loneliness-ravaged adolescent heart. She gives us the fictional truth of a girl chasing danger beyond her comprehension, in a Summer of Longing and Loss." -- The New York Times Book Review "[ The Girls  reimagines] the American novel . . . Like Mary Gaitskill's  Veronica  or Lorrie Moore's  Who Will Run the Frog Hospital?,   The Girls  captures a defining friendship in its full humanity with a touch of rock-memoir, tell-it-like-it-really-was attitude." -- Vogue "Debut novels like this are rare, indeed. . . . The most remarkable quality of this novel is Cline's ability to articulate the anxieties of adolescence in language that's gorgeously poetic without mangling the authenticity of a teenager's consciousness. The adult's melancholy reflection and the girl's swelling impetuousness are flawlessly braided together. . . . For a story that traffics in the lurid notoriety of the Manson murders,  The Girls  is an extraordinary act of restraint. With the maturity of a writer twice her age, Cline has written a wise novel that's never showy: a quiet, seething confession of yearning and terror." -- The Washington Post "Emma Cline has an unparalleled eye for the intricacies of girlhood, turning the stuff of myth into something altogether more intimate. She reminds us that behind so many of our culture's fables exists a girl: unseen, unheard, angry. This book will break your heart and blow your mind." --Lena Dunham "Emma Cline's first novel positively hums with fresh, startling, luminous prose. The Girls announces the arrival of a thrilling new voice in American fiction." --Jennifer Egan "I don't know which is more amazing, Emma Cline's understanding of human beings or her mastery of language." --Mark Haddon, New York Times bestselling author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812998603
9780147523990
9780147524027
9781504727976
9780147524010
9780812998610
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID87249f50-e06d-df2c-2bf8-b5faf7a3eaa7
Grouping Titlegirls
Grouping Authoremma cline
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-20 04:16:53AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 04:19:10AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2McClain, Cady, 1969-
authorEmma Cline
author2-roleMcClain, Cady,1969-narrator.
author_displayCline, Emma
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge AV
Main
Main Media
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_descriptionNorthern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader. Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged -- a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id87249f50-e06d-df2c-2bf8-b5faf7a3eaa7
isbn9780147523990
9780147524010
9780147524027
9780812998603
9780812998610
9781504727976
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14742640.i19688623La Farge AVCD spoken Fiction Cline, E1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lav
ils:.b14742640.i19587971Main MediaCD spoken Fiction Cline, E1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mav
overdrive:92b1d1b2-013f-4971-9554-c8ae88802e06-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:379c1aa5-3c1b-4c41-bfc3-000921c40feb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b14720498.i19560138SouthsideFiction Cline, E1falsefalseDue Sep 24, 2020co
ils:.b14720498.i19560163MainFiction Cline, E1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14720498.i19573492MainFiction Cline, E1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
itype_santafeCD - Spoken
Regular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-25T10:19:10.512Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeCD spoken Fiction Cline, E
Fiction Cline, E
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780812998603
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14742640Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio :[2016]8 audio discs (10 hrs.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:92b1d1b2-013f-4971-9554-c8ae88802e06eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2016
overdrive:379c1aa5-3c1b-4c41-bfc3-000921c40febeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2016
ils:.b14720498BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2016]355 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14742640.i19688623On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14742640.i19587971On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:92b1d1b2-013f-4971-9554-c8ae88802e06-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:379c1aa5-3c1b-4c41-bfc3-000921c40feb-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14720498.i19560138Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14720498.i19560163On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14720498.i19573492On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetAnger in adolescence -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Communal living -- California -- Fiction
Counterculture -- Fiction
Cults -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Manson, Charles, -- 1934-2017 -- Fiction
Nineteen sixties -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_displayThe girls : a novel
title_fullThe Girls A Novel
The girls : a novel / Emma Cline
title_shortThe girls
title_suba novel
topic_facetAnger in adolescence
Communal living
Counterculture
Cults
Fiction
Literature
Manson, Charles
Nineteen sixties
Teenage girls