Far from the tree

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
HarperTeen, An imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
Pub. Date:
[2017].
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 13
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 780L
Description

National Book Award Winner, PEN America Award Winner, and New York Times Bestseller!

Perfect for fans of This Is Us, Robin Benway's beautiful interweaving story of three very different teenagers connected by blood explores the meaning of family in all its forms--how to find it, how to keep it, and how to love it.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including--

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she's quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family's long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can't help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he's learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can't hurt anyone but him.

Don't miss this moving novel that addresses such important topics as adoption, teen pregnancy, and foster care.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062330628
9780062852137
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 13 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 780L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8795035a-2af6-a03d-2b49-c19344bc7df4
Grouping Title far from the tree
Grouping Author benway robin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-09-18 20:02:01PM
Last Indexed 2019-09-22 04:34:00AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 13
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.1
auth_author2 Whelan, Julia, 1984-
author Benway, Robin,
author2-role Whelan, Julia,1984-narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_display Benway, Robin
available_at_santafe Main Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge Young Adult
Main Young Adult
Southside Young Adult
display_description Grace, adopted at birth, is raised as an only child. At sixteen she's just put her own baby up for adoption, and now is looking for her biological family. She discovers Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio twin sister who was also adopted ; and Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother after seventeen years in the foster care system. Grace struggles to between cautious joy at having found them, and the true meaning of family in all its forms.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id 8795035a-2af6-a03d-2b49-c19344bc7df4
isbn 9780062330628
9780062852137
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14971343 .i20078341 Southside Young Adult Fiction Benway, R 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* cy
ils:.b14971343 .i19988771 Main Young Adult Fiction Benway, R 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* my
ils:.b14971343 .i2004205x La Farge Young Adult Fiction Benway, R 1 false false *CHECK SHELF* ly
hoopla:MWT11989866 Online Hoopla Collection Online Hoopla eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true Hoopla https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11989866?utm_source=MARC Available Online
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2019-09-22T10:34:00.64Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 780
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Novels
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Benway, R
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9780062330628
publishDate 2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14971343 Book Books First edition. English HarperTeen, An imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers [2017]. 374 pages ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11989866 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Harper Collins Publishers, 2017. 1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 55 min.)) : digital.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14971343 .i20078341 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b14971343 .i19988771 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b14971343 .i2004205x On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Adopted children -- Fiction
Adopted children -- Juvenile fiction
Brothers and sister -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction
Families -- Fiction
Families -- Juvenile fiction
Family life -- Fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Fiction
Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction
Identity (Psychology) -- Juvenile fiction
Identity -- Fiction
Novels
Teenage mothers -- Fiction
Teenage mothers -- Juvenile fiction
Young adult fiction
Young adult fiction / Family / Adoption
Young adult fiction / Family / Siblings
Young adult fiction / Social Themes / Pregnancy
title_display Far from the tree
title_full Far from the tree / Robin Benway
Far from the tree [electronic resource] / Robin Benway
title_short Far from the tree
topic_facet Adopted children
Brothers and sister
Brothers and sisters
Families
Family life
Family secrets
Identity
Identity (Psychology)
Teenage mothers
Young adult fiction / Family / Adoption
Young adult fiction / Family / Siblings
Young adult fiction / Social Themes / Pregnancy