Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

The famished road: a Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the decade since it won the Booker Prize, Ben Okri's Famished Road has become a classic. Like Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children or Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude , it combines brilliant narrative technique with a fresh vision to create an essential work of world literature. The narrator, Azaro, is an abiku , a spirit child, who in the Yoruba tradition of Nigeria exists between life and death. The life he foresees for himself and the tale he tells is full of sadness and tragedy, but inexplicably he is born with a smile on his face. Nearly called back to the land of the dead, he is resurrected. But in their efforts to save their child, Azaro's loving parents are made destitute. The tension between the land of the living, with its violence and political struggles, and the temptations of the carefree kingdom of the spirits propels this latter-day Lazarus's story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780385424769
9781504040204
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 95fab9e9-5afb-3076-5c4b-2f50d9f674d9
Grouping Title famished road
Grouping Author okri ben
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-24 04:18:14AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-17 04:29:08AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Okri, Ben.
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Okri, Ben
available_at_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch, Southside Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge, Online Hoopla Collection, Southside
display_description Winner of the Man Booker Prize: "Okri shares with Garca̕ Mr̀quez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece" (TheBoston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story. When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs-and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro's travels continues to mesmerize new generations. For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize-winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a "dazzling, hypnotic" journey through Africa that "weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry" (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is "a masterpiece if ever one existed" (The Boston Sunday Globe).
format_category_santafe Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, eBook
id 95fab9e9-5afb-3076-5c4b-2f50d9f674d9
isbn 9780385424769, 9781504040204
item_details hoopla:MWT11707191||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11707191||Available Online||||, ils:.b11005968|.i13354024|Southside|Fiction Okri, B|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||co||, ils:.b11005968|.i1736243x|La Farge|Fiction Okri, B|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||lf||
itype_santafe , Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-10-17T10:29:08.853Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Okri, B
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch, Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9780385424769
publishDate 1992, 2016
record_details hoopla:MWT11707191|eBook|eBook||English|Open Road Media,|2016.|1 online resource, ils:.b11005968|Book|Books|1st ed. in the U.S.|English|N.A. Talese,|1992.|500 p. ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11005968 .i13354024 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
ils:.b11005968 .i1736243x On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
hoopla:MWT11707191 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
series Famished road novels
series_with_volume Famished road novels|1
subject_facet Africa -- Social life and customs -- Fiction, Allegonies, Bildungsromans, Electronic books, Magic -- Fiction, Nigeria -- Fiction
title_display The famished road
title_full The Famished Road : a Novel [electronic resource] Okri, Ben., The famished road / Ben Okri
title_short The famished road
title_sub a Novel
topic_facet Electronic books, Magic, Social life and customs