The famished road: a Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the decade since it won the Booker Prize, Ben Okri's Famished Road has become a classic. Like Salman Rushdie's Midnight's Children or Gabriel Garcia Marquez's One Hundred Years of Solitude , it combines brilliant narrative technique with a fresh vision to create an essential work of world literature. The narrator, Azaro, is an abiku , a spirit child, who in the Yoruba tradition of Nigeria exists between life and death. The life he foresees for himself and the tale he tells is full of sadness and tragedy, but inexplicably he is born with a smile on his face. Nearly called back to the land of the dead, he is resurrected. But in their efforts to save their child, Azaro's loving parents are made destitute. The tension between the land of the living, with its violence and political struggles, and the temptations of the carefree kingdom of the spirits propels this latter-day Lazarus's story.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780385424769
9781504040204
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID95fab9e9-5afb-3076-5c4b-2f50d9f674d9
Grouping Titlefamished road
Grouping Authorokri ben
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-12-07 14:27:50PM
Last Indexed2019-12-07 14:28:11PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorOkri, Ben.
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayOkri, Ben
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Online Hoopla Collection
display_descriptionWinner of the Man Booker Prize: "Okri shares with García Márquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece" (TheBoston Sunday Globe). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story. When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road, which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs-and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons. A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro's travels continues to mesmerize new generations. For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude, this Man Booker Prize-winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a "dazzling, hypnotic" journey through Africa that "weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry" (San Francisco Chronicle). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is "a masterpiece if ever one existed" (The Boston Sunday Globe).
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
id95fab9e9-5afb-3076-5c4b-2f50d9f674d9
isbn9780385424769
9781504040204
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b11005968.i1736243xLa FargeFiction Okri, B1falsefalseDue Jan 4, 2020lf
hoopla:MWT11707191Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11707191Available Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2019-12-07T21:28:11.559Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Okri, B
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeOliver La Farge Branch
primary_isbn9780385424769
publishDate1992
2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b11005968BookBooks1st ed. in the U.S.EnglishN.A. Talese, 1992.500 p. ; 25 cm.
hoopla:MWT11707191eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media, 2016.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11005968.i1736243xChecked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
hoopla:MWT11707191Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesFamished road novels
series_with_volumeFamished road novels|1
subject_facetAfrica -- Social life and customs -- Fiction
Allegonies
Bildungsromans
Electronic books
Magic -- Fiction
Nigeria -- Fiction
title_displayThe famished road
title_fullThe Famished Road : a Novel [electronic resource] Okri, Ben.
The famished road / Ben Okri
title_shortThe famished road
title_suba Novel
topic_facetElectronic books
Magic
Social life and customs