Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Annie John

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
1130L
Description
"Annie John "is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of "The Catcher in the Rye "and "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, "Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780374105211
9781982435318
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
1130L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9ca73387-1299-14be-8087-2bb4612c617a
Grouping Titleannie john
Grouping Authorjamaica kincaid
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-01 21:12:41PM
Last Indexed2020-10-24 04:20:59AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value7
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.9
auth_author2Miles, Robin.
authorKincaid, Jamaica.
author2-roleMiles, Robin.
hoopla digital.
author_displayKincaid, Jamaica
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeMain
Online Hoopla Collection
display_descriptionJamaica Kincaid presents a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence at the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world." A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Annie John focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice, urgent, demanding to be heard, is one that will not soon be forgotten.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
id9ca73387-1299-14be-8087-2bb4612c617a
isbn9780374105211
9781982435318
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10460883.i19185716MainFiction Kincaid, J1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
hoopla:MWT11667557Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11667557?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-10-24T10:20:59.44Z
lexile_score1130
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Kincaid, J
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780374105211
publishDate1985
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10460883BookBooksEnglishFarrar, Straus, Giroux, c1985.148 p. ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11667557eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (4hr., 19 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10460883.i19185716On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
hoopla:MWT11667557Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetTeenage girls -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
title_displayAnnie John
title_fullAnnie John / Jamaica Kincaid
Annie John [electronic resource] Kincaid, Jamaica.
title_shortAnnie John
topic_facetTeenage girls