Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

My sister's bones: a novel of suspense

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"Rivals The Girl on the Train as a compulsive read (and beats it for style). -- Observer (UK)

In the vein of Fiona Barton's The Widow and Ren#65533;e Knight's Disclaimer, a psychological thriller about a war reporter who returns to her childhood home after her mother's death but becomes convinced that all is not well in the house next door--but is what she's seeing real or a symptom of the trauma she suffered in Syria?

The One Person You Should Trust Is Lying to You... Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door--a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children--Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong.

As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up--and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers--she begins to wonder what is actually true...and what is just in her mind. In this gripping, timely debut, Nuala Ellwood brings us an unforgettable damaged character, a haunting , humanizing look at the Syrian conflict, and a deeply harrowing psychological thriller that readers won't be able to put down.

Also in This Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
Grouping Title my sister s bones
Grouping Author ellwood nuala
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-10-18 04:17:40AM
Last Indexed 2018-10-23 04:29:19AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Copland, Jane,, Wells, Mary Jane,
author Ellwood, Nuala,
author2-role Copland, Jane,narrator., Wells, Mary Jane,narrator., hoopla digital.
author_display Ellwood, Nuala
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main, Online Hoopla Collection
display_description "Kate has spent fifteen years bringing global injustice home: as a decorated war reporter, she's always in a place of conflict, writing about ordinary people in unimaginable situations. When her mother dies, Kate returns home from Syria for the funeral. But an incident with a young Syrian boy haunts her dreams, and when Kate sees a boy in the garden of the house next door--a house inhabited by an Iraqi refugee who claims her husband is away and she has no children--Kate becomes convinced that something is very wrong. As she struggles to separate her memories of Syria from the quiet town in which she grew up--and also to reconcile her memories of a traumatic childhood with her sister's insistence that all was not as Kate remembers--she begins to wonder what is actually true...and what is just in her mind."--Page 4 of cover.
format_category_santafe Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, eAudiobook
id a85a296c-779c-8f3c-fb63-6af04de97a6f
isbn 9780062661968, 9780062681737
item_details hoopla:MWT11902432||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11902432||Available Online||||, ils:.b14940486|.i19920647|Main|Fiction Ellwood, N|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe , Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-10-23T10:29:19.044Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Ellwood, N
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780062661968
publishDate 2017
record_details hoopla:MWT11902432|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Harper Collins Publishers,|2017.|1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 49 min.)) : digital., ils:.b14940486|Book|Books|First U.S. edition.|English|William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2017].|xi, 383, 20 pages ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14940486 .i19920647 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
hoopla:MWT11902432 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Dysfunctional families -- Fiction, Family secrets -- Fiction, Fiction / Contemporary Women, Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological, Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense, Post-traumatic stress disorder -- Fiction, Sisters -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, Thrillers (Fiction), War correspondents -- Fiction, Women alcoholics -- Fiction, Women journalists -- Fiction
title_display My sister's bones : a novel of suspense
title_full My sister's bones : a novel of suspense / Nuala Ellwood, My sister's bones [electronic resource] / Nuala Ellwood
title_short My sister's bones :
title_sub a novel of suspense
topic_facet Dysfunctional families, Family secrets, Fiction / Contemporary Women, Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological, Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense, Post-traumatic stress disorder, Sisters, War correspondents, Women alcoholics, Women journalists