Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

You will pay

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In a fast-paced, brilliantly twisted novel of suspense from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson, the deadly secrets of a long-ago summer stir to life once more. It starts as a prank--a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Among the teen counselors, tensions and hormones are running high. No wonder the others agree when Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little . . . or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt. What could go wrong? Everything. Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains in a cavern at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father, a preacher, ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. No one knows what happened to either of them, though with a dangerous convict on the loose, gossip was rife that they may have been kidnapped, or worse. For Lucas, the case is personal--perhaps too much so. But it's time to uncover the whole truth at last. That's why seven former female counselors are coming back to the small Oregon town--among them, Bernadette Alsace, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds. First come texts containing a personal memento and a simple, terrifying message: YOU WILL PAY. Then, the murders begin. It started years ago. But it will end here--as a web of lust, greed, and betrayal is untangled to reveal a killer waiting to enact the perfect revenge. OUTSTANDING PRAISE FOR THE NOVELS OF LISA JACKSON AFTER SHE'S GONE "Jackson generates near-constant suspense, weaving together disparate plot turns, directing a large cast of characters, and playing up movie-star egos and show-biz gossip to give the novel a vintage Hollywood feel." --Booklist NEVER DIE ALONE "Jackson definitely knows how to keep readers riveted." --Mystery Scene CLOSE TO HOME "Jackson definitely knows how to jangle readers' nerves... Close to Home is perfect for readers of Joy Fielding or fans of Mary Higgins Clark." --Booklist TELL ME "Absolutely tension filled...Jackson is on top of her game." --Suspense Magazine YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW "Lisa Jackson shows yet again why she is one of the best at romantic suspense. A pure nail biter." --Harlan Coben, # 1 New York Times bestselling author "Shiveringly good suspense!" --Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author WITHOUT MERCY "Her latest whodunit hits all the marks, taking readers on a nail-biting roller-coaster ride." --Library Journal "A juicy creep-a-thon...builds to a surprising cliffhanger ending." --Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781617734663
9781617734694
9781420136012
9781683244325
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDac410ac8-97bc-8f7b-f9e5-5b20bb36a835
Grouping Titleyou will pay
Grouping Authorlisa jackson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-04 00:02:02AM
Last Indexed2020-09-22 04:19:20AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJackson, Lisa,
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayJackson, Lisa
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main Large Type
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_descriptionIt starts as a prank -- a way to blow off steam after a long summer at Camp Horseshoe. Among the teen counselors, tensions and hormones are running high. No wonder the others agree when Jo-Beth Chancellor suggests they scare Monica O'Neal a little--or a lot. Monica has it coming, and no one will really get hurt. What could go wrong? Twenty years later, Lucas Dalton, a senior detective with the sheriff's department, is investigating the discovery of human remains in a cavern at what used to be Camp Horseshoe. Lucas knows the spot well. His father, a preacher, ran the camp, and Lucas worked there that infamous summer when two girls went missing. One is believed to have been killed by a convict on the loose. Monica O'Neal is thought to have drowned and been washed out to sea. Lucas knows he should step down from such a personal case. He's already jeopardized his career by removing evidence of his involvement. But maybe it's time to uncover the whole truth at last. That's why five former female counselors are coming back to the small Oregon town -- among them, Bernadette Warden, the woman Lucas has never forgotten. Each one knows something about that terrible night. Each promised not to tell. And as they reunite, a new horror unfolds.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
Large Print
eBook
idac410ac8-97bc-8f7b-f9e5-5b20bb36a835
isbn9781420136012
9781617734663
9781617734694
9781683244325
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14948898.i19904770Main Large TypeMystery Jackson, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mlt
hoopla:MWT12415233Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12415233?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:07e1ff03-74cc-4727-aaab-d90f84fb9afc-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b14895316.i19865922La FargeMystery Jackson, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
ils:.b14895316.i19865934SouthsideMystery Jackson, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-22T10:19:20.184Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeMystery Jackson, L
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9781617734663
publishDate2017
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14948898Large PrintBooksCenter Point Large Print edition.EnglishCenter Point Large Print, 2017.639 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
hoopla:MWT12415233eBookeBookEnglishZebra Books, 2018.1 online resource
overdrive:07e1ff03-74cc-4727-aaab-d90f84fb9afceBookeBookEnglishKensington2017
ils:.b14895316BookBooksEnglishKensington Books, 2017.410 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14948898.i19904770On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
hoopla:MWT12415233Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:07e1ff03-74cc-4727-aaab-d90f84fb9afc-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14895316.i19865922On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14895316.i19865934On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetCamp counselors -- Fiction
Camps -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Large type book
Large type books
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Oregon -- Fiction
Practical jokes -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
title_displayYou will pay
title_fullYou Will Pay
You will pay / Lisa Jackson
You will pay [electronic resource] / Lisa Jackson
title_shortYou will pay
topic_facetCamp counselors
Camps
Electronic books
Fiction
Fiction / Crime
Fiction / Thrillers / Psychological
Fiction / Thrillers / Suspense
Investigation
Large type books
Murder
Mystery
Practical jokes
Suspense
Thriller