Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.
La Farge Branch Library is closed indefinitely for repairs.

The wife: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10-in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herselfWhen Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062390516
9781499045536
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID aef1fa1c-09a6-0328-d44e-786ef02ba677
Grouping Title wife
Grouping Author burke alafair
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-08-15 04:18:21AM
Last Indexed 2018-08-17 04:30:37AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Burke, Alafair,
author2-role hoopla digital.
author_display Burke, Alafair
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main, Main New Books, Online Hoopla Collection, Southside, Southside New Books
display_description "When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look -- at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe."--
format_category_santafe Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, eBook
id aef1fa1c-09a6-0328-d44e-786ef02ba677
isbn 9780062390516, 9781499045536
item_details hoopla:MWT12098676||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12098676||Available Online||||, ils:.b15001568|.i20024897|Main New Books|Fiction Burke, A|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 22, 2018||m14dy||, ils:.b15001568|.i20024915|Southside|Fiction Burke, A|||1|false|false|||||Due Sep 9, 2018||co||, ils:.b15001568|.i20038641|Main|Fiction Burke, A|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||, ils:.b15001568|.i20038653|Southside New Books|Fiction Burke, A|||1|false|false|||||Due Aug 27, 2018||c14dy||
itype_santafe , 14 day books, Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-08-17T10:30:37.507Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Burke, A
local_time_since_added_santafe Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9780062390516
publishDate 2014, 2018
record_details hoopla:MWT12098676|eBook|eBook||English|Xlibris US,|2014.|1 online resource, ils:.b15001568|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018].|340 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15001568 .i20024915 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b15001568 .i20038641 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
ils:.b15001568 .i20024897 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
ils:.b15001568 .i20038653 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
hoopla:MWT12098676 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Authors -- Fiction, Divorced people -- Fiction, Electronic books, Husband and wife -- Fiction, Man-woman relationships -- Fiction, Manhattan (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction, Married people -- Fiction, Missing persons -- Fiction, Police charges -- Fiction, Psychological fiction, Spouses -- Fiction, Suspense fiction, Thrillers (Fiction), Women lawyers -- Fiction
title_display The wife : a novel of psychological suspense
title_full The wife : a novel [electronic resource] / Alafair Burke, The wife : a novel of psychological suspense / Alafair Burke
title_short The wife :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Authors, Divorced people, Electronic books, Husband and wife, Man-woman relationships, Married people, Missing persons, Police charges, Spouses, Women lawyers