Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel -- perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove . The international publishing sensation -- more than six million copies sold worldwide! A reluctant centenarian much like Forrest Gump (if Gump were an explosives expert) decides it's not too late to start over . . . After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he's still in good health, and in one day, he turns 100. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn't interested (and he'd like a bit more control over his vodka consumption). So he decides to escape. He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash, some unpleasant criminals, a friendly hot-dog stand operator, and an elephant (not to mention a death by elephant). It would be the adventure of a lifetime for anyone else, but Allan has a larger-than-life backstory: Not only has he witnessed some of the most important events of the twentieth century, but he has actually played a key role in them. Starting out in munitions as a boy, he somehow finds himself involved in many of the key explosions of the twentieth century and travels the world, sharing meals and more with everyone from Stalin, Churchill, and Truman to Mao, Franco, and de Gaulle. Quirky and utterly unique, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared has charmed readers across the world.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781401324643
9780316287333
9780792793335
9781982444792
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb2728440-b952-5e14-2011-64b5a0e7d0ec
Grouping Title100 year old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
Grouping Authorjonas jonasson
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-20 09:47:32AM
Last Indexed2020-10-22 04:19:10AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Bradbury, Rod.
Crossley, Steven.
authorJonas Jonasson
author2-roleBradbury, Rod.
Crossley, Steven.
hoopla digital.
author_displayJonasson, Jonas
detailed_location_santafeOnline OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_descriptionConfined to a nursing home and about to turn 100, Allan Karlsson, who has a larger-than-life back story as an explosives expert, climbs out of the window in his slippers and embarks on an unforgettable adventure involving thugs, a murderous elephant and a very friendly hot dog stand operator.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
eBook
idb2728440-b952-5e14-2011-64b5a0e7d0ec
isbn9780316287333
9780792793335
9781401324643
9781982444792
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14146794.i18535756SouthsideFiction Jonasson, J1falsefalseDue Jun 18, 2020co
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT11397892Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11397892?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-10-22T10:19:10.709Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Jonasson, J
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeSouthside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9781401324643
publishDate2012
2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14146794BookBooksEnglishHyperion, c2012.384 p. ; 21 cm.
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2012
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627eBookeBookEnglishHachette Books2012
hoopla:MWT11397892eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2013.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 59 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14146794.i18535756Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:7316b560-c63e-4b33-a89c-fe7b14b3cf02-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:cf0fd73e-a1be-4e12-9aff-7f8e0ab90627-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Centenarians -- Fiction
English fiction -- Translations from Swedish
Older people -- Fiction
Swedish fiction -- Translations into English
title_displayThe 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
title_fullThe 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared
The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared / Jonas Jonasson ; translated from the Swedish by Rod Bradbury
The 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared [electronic resource] Jonasson, Jonas, 1961-
title_shortThe 100-year-old man who climbed out the window and disappeared
topic_facetAudiobooks
Centenarians
English fiction
Fiction
Literature
Older people
Swedish fiction