Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Salt to the sea: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Description
New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted" -- The Wall Street Journal For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See , Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea : Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."-- The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-- Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."-- The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-- New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-- Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."-- The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-- Salt Lake Tribune ♦ * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."-- Booklist ♦ * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."-- School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year Praise for Between Shades of Gray : A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW , SLJ , Booklist , and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-- The Washington Post ♦ * "[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- Booklist
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399160301
9780698172623
9781410492876
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb521989c-c26b-dde9-c7a7-fbc4d93b08f3
Grouping Titlesalt to the sea
Grouping Authorruta sepetys
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-16 14:57:15PM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 04:19:05AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.5
authorSepetys, Ruta,
author_displaySepetys, Ruta
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge Large Type
La Farge Young Adult
Main Childrens - J
Main Young Adult
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside Young Adult
display_descriptionWinter, 1945. Four teenagers. Four secrets. Each one born of a different homeland; each one hunted, and haunted, by tragedy, lies ... and war. As thousands of desperate refugees flock to the coast in the midst of a Soviet advance, four paths converge, vying for passage aboard the Wilhelm Gustloff, a ship that promises safety and freedom. Yet not all promises can be kept.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
Large Print
eBook
idb521989c-c26b-dde9-c7a7-fbc4d93b08f3
isbn9780399160301
9780698172623
9781410492876
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14739021.i19674612La Farge Large TypeFiction Sepetys, R1falsefalseDue Oct 14, 2020llt
ils:.b14652882.i19483934Southside Young AdultFiction Sepetys, R1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*cy
ils:.b14652882.i19467382Main Childrens - JFiction Sepetys, R1falsefalseDue Oct 5, 2020mj
ils:.b14652882.i20148161Main Young AdultFiction Sepetys, R1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*my
ils:.b14652882.i20000479La Farge Young AdultFiction Sepetys, R1falsefalseDue Jun 18, 2020ly
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-25T10:19:05.891Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score560
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Sepetys, R
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780399160301
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14739021Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.499 pages (large print) : map ; 23 cm.
ils:.b14652882BookBooksEnglishPhilomel Books, [2016]391 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14739021.i19674612Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14652882.i19483934On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14652882.i19467382Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14652882.i20148161On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14652882.i20000479Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetHistorical fiction
Large type books
Refugees -- Fiction
Shipwreck survival -- Juvenile fiction
Teenage refugees -- Juvenile fiction
Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) -- Juvenile fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Evacuation of civilians -- Juvenile fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Juvenile fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Refugees -- Juvenile fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displaySalt to the sea : a novel
title_fullSalt to the Sea
Salt to the sea / Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the sea : a novel / Ruta Sepetys
title_shortSalt to the sea
title_suba novel
topic_facetEvacuation of civilians
Historical Fiction
Large type books
Refugees
Shipwreck survival
Teenage refugees
World War, 1939-1945
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature