Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Annie John

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.9 - AR Pts: 7
Description
"Annie John "is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of "The Catcher in the Rye "and "A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, "Kincaid's novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice--urgent, demanding to be heard--is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world."
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780374105211
9781504743099
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.9, 7 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
Grouping Title annie john
Grouping Author kincaid jamaica
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-02 04:18:45AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-15 04:21:13AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 7
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.9
auth_author2 Miles, Robin.
author Kincaid, Jamaica.
author2-role Miles, Robin., hoopla digital.
author_display Kincaid, Jamaica
detailed_location_santafe Main, Online Hoopla Collection
display_description Jamaica Kincaid presents a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence at the very center of the little girl's existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother's benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, "It was in such a paradise that I lived." When she turns twelve, however, Annie's life changes in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a "young lady," ceases to be the source of unconditional adoration and takes on the new and unfamiliar guise of adversary. At the end of her school years, Annie decides to leave Antigua and her family, but not without a measure of sorrow, especially for the mother she once knew and never ceases to mourn. "For I could not be sure," she reflects, "whether for the rest of my life I would be able to tell when it was really my mother and when it was really her shadow standing between me and the rest of the world." A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Annie John focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie's voice, urgent, demanding to be heard, is one that will not soon be forgotten.
format_category_santafe Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_santafe Book, eAudiobook
id b56d7e5c-e362-bbf6-342e-629a0e3269da
isbn 9780374105211, 9781504743099
item_details hoopla:MWT11667557||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11667557||Available Online||||, ils:.b10460883|.i19185716|Main|Fiction Kincaid, J|||1|false|false|||||Due Jul 25, 2018||mn||
itype_santafe , Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-07-15T10:21:13.205Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Kincaid, J
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780374105211
publishDate 1985, 2016
record_details hoopla:MWT11667557|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Blackstone Audio, Inc. ,|2016.|1 online resource (1 audio file (4hr., 19 min.)) : digital., ils:.b10460883|Book|Books||English|Farrar, Straus, Giroux,|c1985.|148 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10460883 .i19185716 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true 999
hoopla:MWT11667557 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet Talking books, Teenage girls -- Antigua and Barbuda -- Antigua -- Fiction
title_display Annie John
title_full Annie John / Jamaica Kincaid, Annie John [electronic resource] Kincaid, Jamaica.
title_short Annie John
topic_facet Talking books, Teenage girls