Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Six plays

Book Cover
Average Rating
Vintage Books,
Pub. Date:
These six plays span nearly twenty years of theatre and display the range of Lillian Hellman's dramatic gifts. The Children's Hour (1934), her first play, was considered shocking at the time; it concerns the devastating effects of a child's malicious charge of lesbianism against two of her teachers. Days to Come (1936) is about the tragic consequences of strike-breaking in a small Midwestern community. The Little Foxes (1939) and Another Part of the Forest (1946) together constitute a chilling study of the financial and psychological conflicts within the Hubbards, a wealthy and rapacious Southern family. Watch on the Rhine (1941), the story of how fascism affects an American family and the refugees they harbor, won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award. The Autumn Garden (1951) is a poignant yet humorous drama set at a summer resort near New Orleans.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID b619c212-300f-886f-bcec-a34e7507aeb9
full_title six plays
author hellman lillian
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2018-02-20 04:19:32AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Hellman, Lillian, 1905-1984.
author_display Hellman, Lillian
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description Six acclaimed plays by Lillian Hellman span nearly twenty years of the American theater from 1934 to 1951.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id b619c212-300f-886f-bcec-a34e7507aeb9
isbn 9780394741123
item_details ils:.b10843450|.i18831230|Main|812.5 Hel|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe 812.5 Hel
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780394741123
publishDate 1979
record_details ils:.b10843450|Book|Books||English|Vintage Books,|c1979.|494 p. ; 21 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe ils:.b10843450|.i18831230|On Shelf|*CHECK SHELF*|false|true|true|false|false|true|999|||
subject_facet American drama -- 20th century
title_display Six plays
title_full Six plays / by Lillian Hellman
title_short Six plays
topic_facet American drama