Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Social creature: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
One of the Best Books of the Year: Janet Maslin, The New York Times Vulture NPR " Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." --Janet Maslin, The New York Times For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City. They go through both bottles of champagne right there on the High Line, with nothing but the stars over them... They drink and Lavinia tells Louise about all the places they will go together, when they finish their stories, when they are both great writers-to Paris and to Rome and to Trieste... Lavinia will never go. She is going to die soon. Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525436416
9780525632580
9780385543538
9780385543521
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb8a3ca0f-694a-a635-5676-0802aaea4302
Grouping Titlesocial creature
Grouping Authortara isabella burton
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-26 19:25:26PM
Last Indexed2020-10-29 04:19:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBurton, Tara Isabella,
author_displayBurton, Tara Isabella
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside
display_description"A sharp, biting, and irresistible debut about parties and ambition in New York City -- introducing a talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, with all the glitz and grit of Bright Lights, Big City. If you can make it here, you can make it anywhere. Louise Wilson is an expert at just barely making it. She's mastered the tricks and shortcuts that a penniless small-town girl needs to survive in New York City. When she meets the beautiful, wealthy, eccentric, and aimless Lavinia Williams, she thinks her dreams of a cosmopolitan existence may be coming true. Lavinia introduces her to a rarified life of beauty and indulgence: private opera boxes, secret bookstores in brownstones, Shakespearean masked balls, underground cabarets, closets full of hundreds of dresses, and the finest champagne money can buy. The more Louise tastes, the more she wants. Could she ever truly be a part of this world? She can speak with the right affectation, wear the best makeup, drop the appropriate references, but she is always afraid people can see her true nature, which is darker than anyone can imagine. She finds herself haunted by the disparity between them. Lavinia has so much, and Louise so little, despite her yearning. Nightlife -- the music, the buzz, the dim lights -- is the great equalizer. But morning always comes, and Louise will do whatever it takes to keep the party going. This delicious debut takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it undeniably modern"-- "Part THE TALENTED MR. RIPLEY, part Bret Easton Ellis's THE RULES OF ATTRACTION, about a small-town girl trying to survive in New York and become part of the city's literati, who forms an intense friendship with a troubled socialite, leading to extreme consequences"-- Louise Wilson mastered the tricks and shortcuts that a penniless small-town girl needs to survive in New York City. When she meets the beautiful, wealthy, eccentric, and aimless Lavinia Williams, she thinks her dreams of a cosmopolitan existence may be coming true. Lavinia introduces her to a rarified life of beauty and indulgence: private opera boxes, closets full of hundreds of dresses, and the finest champagne money can buy. The more Louise tastes, the more she wants. She finds herself haunted by the disparity between them, but will do whatever it takes to keep the party going.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
eBook
idb8a3ca0f-694a-a635-5676-0802aaea4302
isbn9780385543521
9780385543538
9780525436416
9780525632580
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a23b6b79-1a68-4115-97b2-724906948cd6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b15046035.i20139731MainFiction Burton, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b15046035.i20139378SouthsideFiction Burton, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b15046035.o3434837Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderl
ils:.b15046035.o3443073Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderc
ils:.b15046035.o3413810Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderm
ils:.b15046035.i20128927La FargeFiction Burton, T1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
overdrive:7b23ec79-dc05-479b-8f1f-5b225ac747f0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-10-29T10:19:26.718Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Burton, T
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Main Library (Curbside Pickup) On Order
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup) On Order
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup) On Order
primary_isbn9780525436416
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a23b6b79-1a68-4115-97b2-724906948cd6eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2018
ils:.b15046035BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishDoubleday, [2018].273 pages ; 25 cm.
overdrive:7b23ec79-dc05-479b-8f1f-5b225ac747f0eBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2018
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a23b6b79-1a68-4115-97b2-724906948cd6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15046035.i20139731On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15046035.i20139378On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15046035.o3434837On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15046035.o3443073On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15046035.o3413810On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15046035.i20128927On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:7b23ec79-dc05-479b-8f1f-5b225ac747f0-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCompulsive behavior -- Fiction
Envy -- Fiction
Fiction -- Contemporary Women
Fiction -- Literary
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Women murderers -- Fiction
Young women -- Fiction
title_displaySocial creature : a novel
title_fullSocial Creature A Novel
Social creature : a novel / Tara Isabella Burton
title_shortSocial creature
title_suba novel
topic_facetCompulsive behavior
Contemporary Women
Envy
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Thriller
Women murderers
Young women