Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The Brendan voyage

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
McGraw-Hill,
Pub. Date:
c1978.
Language:
English
Description
Could an Irish monk in the sixth century really have sailed all the way across the Atlantic in a small open boat, thus beating Columbus to the New World by almost a thousand years? Relying on the medieval text of St. Brendan, award-winning adventure writer Tim Severin painstakingly researched and built a boat identical to the leather curragh that carried Brendan on his epic voyage. He found a centuries-old, family-run tannery to prepare the ox hides in the medieval way; he undertook an exhaustive search for skilled harness makers (the only people who would know how to stitch the three-quarter-inch-thick hides together); he located one of the last pieces of Irish-grown timber tall enough to make the mainmast. But his courage and resourcefulness were truly tested on the open seas, including one heart-pounding episode when he and his crew repaired a dangerous tear in the leather hull by hanging over the side--their heads sometimes submerged under the freezing waves--to restitch the leather. A modern classic in the tradition of Kon-Tiki, The Brendan Voyage seamlessly blends high adventure and historical relevance. It has been translated into twenty-seven languages since its original publication in 1978. With a new Introduction by Malachy McCourt, author of A Monk Swimming
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780070563353
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbfe0f694-cc70-7238-e378-1040dbe44bae
Grouping Titlebrendan voyage
Grouping Authortimothy severin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-01 20:42:06PM
Last Indexed2020-11-26 04:19:55AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSeverin, Timothy.
author_displaySeverin, Timothy
available_at_santafeSouthside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeSouthside
display_description
format_category_santafeBooks
format_santafeBook
idbfe0f694-cc70-7238-e378-1040dbe44bae
isbn9780070563353
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10081410.i16917194Southside910.41 Sev1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-11-26T11:19:55.517Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe910.41 Sev
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeSouthside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780070563353
publishDate1978
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10081410BookBooksEnglishMcGraw-Hill, c1978.viii, 292 p., [16] leaves of plates : ill. ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10081410.i16917194On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetBrendan (Curragh)
Voyages and travels
title_displayThe Brendan voyage
title_fullThe Brendan voyage / Tim Severin ; drawings by Trondur Patursson
title_shortThe Brendan voyage
topic_facetVoyages and travels