Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The sleepwalker's guide to dancing: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, BUSTLE, AND EMILY GOULD, THE MILLIONS For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Mona Simpson, and Jhumpa Lahiri comes a winning, irreverent debut novel about a family wrestling with its future and its past.   With depth, heart, and agility, debut novelist Mira Jacob takes us on a deftly plotted journey that ranges from 1970s India to suburban 1980s New Mexico to Seattle during the dot.com boom. The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing is an epic, irreverent testimony to the bonds of love, the pull of hope, and the power of making peace with life's uncertainties.   Celebrated brain surgeon Thomas Eapen has been sitting on his porch, talking to dead relatives. At least that is the story his wife, Kamala, prone to exaggeration, tells their daughter, Amina, a photographer living in Seattle.   Reluctantly Amina returns home and finds a situation that is far more complicated than her mother let on, with roots in a trip the family, including Amina's rebellious brother Akhil, took to India twenty years earlier. Confronted by Thomas's unwillingness to explain himself, strange looks from the hospital staff, and a series of puzzling items buried in her mother's garden, Amina soon realizes that the only way she can help her father is by coming to terms with her family's painful past. In doing so, she must reckon with the ghosts that haunt all of the Eapens.   Praise for The Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing   "With wit and a rich understanding of human foibles, Jacob unspools a story that will touch your heart." --People   "Optimistic, unpretentious and refreshingly witty." --Associated Press   "By turns hilarious and tender and always attuned to shifts of emotion . . . [Jacob's] characters shimmer with life. "-- Entertainment Weekly   "A rich, engrossing debut told with lightness and care." -- The Kansas City Star   "[A] sprawling, poignant, often humorous novel . . . Told with humor and sympathy for its characters, the book serves as a bittersweet lesson in the binding power of family, even when we seek to break out from it." -- O: The Oprah Magazine   "Moving forward and back in time, Jacob balances comedy and romance with indelible sorrow. . . . When her plot springs surprises, she lets them happen just as they do in life: blindsidingly right in the middle of things." --The Boston Globe   "This is an effortlessly gorgeous and rich book. Its prose is lovely and precise, alternately luminous and direct; its observations of people and families and the physical world are poignant and a delight. The dialogue is sharp, funny, and true. This is a triumphant debut!" --Jonathan Ames, author of Wake Up, Sir!   "Comparisons of Jacob to Jhumpa Lahiri are inevitab≤ . . . both write with naked honesty about the uneasy generational divide among Indians in America and about family in all its permutations." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812994780
9780812994797
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd2da9e12-423e-58c2-b46a-2e649056760f
Grouping Titlesleepwalkers guide to dancing
Grouping Authormira jacob
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-21 22:00:04PM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 04:19:47AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMira Jacob
author_displayJacob, Mira
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeMain
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_description"Brain surgeon Thomas Eapen's decision to shorten his visit to his mother's home in India has consequences that reverberate two decades later as he starts conversing with the dead and daughter Amina must sort through the family's past to help him."--
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
idd2da9e12-423e-58c2-b46a-2e649056760f
isbn9780812994780
9780812994797
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b14392884.i19039918SouthsideFiction Jacob, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b14392884.i1903992xMainFiction Jacob, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-25T10:19:47.846Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Jacob, M
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780812994780
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
ils:.b14392884BookBooksFirst ed.EnglishRandom House, [2014]502 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:46a7545c-c9fb-4294-9492-f720e0f5a0e0-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14392884.i19039918On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14392884.i1903992xOn Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetDomestic fiction
Family secrets -- Fiction
Occult fiction
Paranormal fiction
Surgeons -- Fiction
title_displayThe sleepwalker's guide to dancing : a novel
title_fullThe Sleepwalker's Guide to Dancing A Novel
The sleepwalker's guide to dancing : a novel / Mira Jacob
title_shortThe sleepwalker's guide to dancing
title_suba novel
topic_facetFamily secrets
Fiction
Literature
Surgeons