Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Sour heart: stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Lenny,
Pub. Date:
[2017]
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A sly debut story collection that conjures the experience of adolescence through the eyes of Chinese American girls growing up in New York City--for readers of Zadie Smith and Helen Oyeyemi. Winner of the Los Angeles Times Book Prize * Winner of the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction * Finalist for the New York Public Library's Young Lions Fiction Award NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New Yorker * NPR * O: The Oprah Magazine * The Guardian * Esquire * New York * BuzzFeed A fresh new voice emerges with the arrival of Sour Heart , establishing Jenny Zhang as a frank and subversive interpreter of the immigrant experience in America. Her stories cut across generations and continents, moving from the fraught halls of a public school in Flushing, Queens, to the tumultuous streets of Shanghai, China, during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s. In the absence of grown-ups, latchkey kids experiment on each other until one day the experiments turn violent; an overbearing mother abandons her artistic aspirations to come to America but relives her glory days through karaoke; and a shy loner struggles to master English so she can speak to God. Narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants who fled imperiled lives as artists back home only to struggle to stay afloat--dumpster diving for food and scamming Atlantic City casino buses to make a buck--these seven stories showcase Zhang's compassion, moral courage, and a perverse sense of humor reminiscent of Portnoy's Complaint . A darkly funny and intimate rendering of girlhood, Sour Heart examines what it means to belong to a family, to find your home, leave it, reject it, and return again. Praise for Sour Heart "[Jenny Zhang's] coming-of-age tales are coarse and funny, sweet and sour, told in language that's rough-hewn yet pulsating with energy." -- USA Today "One of the knockout fiction debuts of the year." --New York "Compelling writing about what it means to be a teenager . . . It's brilliant, it's dark, but it's also humorous and filled with love." -- Isaac Fitzgerald, Today "[A] combustible collection . . . in a class of its own." --Booklist (starred review) "Gorgeous and grotesque . . . [a] tremendous debut." -- Slate
Also in this Series
More Like This
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID dde905de-eb88-fcda-d160-89665ce398f3
Grouping Title sour heart
Grouping Author zhang jenny
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-02 04:18:45AM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 04:21:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Zhang, Jenny.
author Zhang, Jenny,
author2-role Zhang, Jenny.Empty, the empty, the empty., Zhang, Jenny.Evolution of my brother., Zhang, Jenny.My days and nights of terror., Zhang, Jenny.Our mothers before them., Zhang, Jenny.We love you Crispina., Zhang, Jenny.Why were they throwing bricks?, Zhang, Jenny.You fell into the river and I saved you!
author_display Zhang, Jenny
available_at_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge
display_description "A debut collection of stories that plunge readers into the tender and chaotic hearts of adolescent girls growing up in New York City, from celebrated poet and National Magazine Award nominee Jenny Zhang"-- "Centered on a community of immigrants who have traded their endangered lives as artists in China and Taiwan for the constant struggle of life at the poverty line in 1990s New York City, Zhang's exhilarating collection examines the many ways that family and history can weigh us down and also lift us up. From the young woman coming to terms with her grandmother's role in the Cultural Revolution to the daughter struggling to understand where her family ends and she begins, to the girl discovering the power of her body to inspire and destroy, these seven vibrant stories illuminate the complex and messy inner lives of girls struggling to define themselves. Fueled by Zhang's singular voice and sly humor, this collection introduces Zhang as a bright and devastating force in literary fiction"--
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id dde905de-eb88-fcda-d160-89665ce398f3
isbn 9780399589386
item_details ils:.b14947614|.i19912274|La Farge|Fiction Zhang, J|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||lf||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-07-16T10:21:44.493Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Short Stories
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Zhang, J
local_time_since_added_santafe Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Oliver La Farge Branch
primary_isbn 9780399589386
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:.b14947614|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Lenny,|[2017]|301 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14947614 .i19912274 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Bildungsromans, New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction, Short stories
title_display Sour heart : stories
title_full Sour heart : stories / Jenny Zhang
title_short Sour heart :
title_sub stories