Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Barkskins: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Now a television mini-series airing on National Geographic May 2020! A Washington Post Best Book of the Year & a New York Times Notable Book From the Pulitzer Prize-­­winning author of The Shipping News and "Brokeback Mountain," comes the New York Times bestselling epic about the demise of the world's forests: " Barkskins is grand entertainment in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy...the crowning achievement of Annie Proulx's distinguished career, but also perhaps the greatest environmental novel ever written" ( San Francisco Chronicle ). In the late seventeenth century two young Frenchmen, René Sel and Charles Duquet, arrive in New France. Bound to a feudal lord for three years in exchange for land, they become wood-cutters--barkskins. René suffers extraordinary hardship, oppressed by the forest he is charged with clearing. He is forced to marry a native woman and their descendants live trapped between two cultures. But Duquet runs away, becomes a fur trader, then sets up a timber business. Annie Proulx tells the stories of the descendants of Sel and Duquet over three hundred years--their travels across North America, to Europe, China, and New Zealand--the revenge of rivals, accidents, pestilence, Indian attacks, and cultural annihilation. Over and over, they seize what they can of a presumed infinite resource, leaving the modern-day characters face to face with possible ecological collapse. "A stunning, bracing, full-tilt ride through three hundred years of US and Canadian history...with the type of full-immersion plot that keeps you curled in your chair, reluctant to stop reading" ( Elle ), Barkskins showcases Proulx's inimitable genius of creating characters who are so vivid that we follow them with fierce attention. "This is Proulx at the height of her powers as an irreplaceable American voice" ( Entertainment Weekly , Grade A), and Barkskins "is an awesome monument of a book" ( The Washington Post )--"the masterpiece she was meant to write" ( The Boston Globe ). As Anthony Doerr says, "This magnificent novel possesses the dark humor of The Shipping News and the social awareness of 'Brokeback Mountain.'"
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780743288798
9781410490896
9781442370067
9780743288781
9781442381049
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdede3b01-d820-d81f-e74d-4340f53603cc
Grouping Titlebarkskins
Grouping Authorannie proulx
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-20 04:16:53AM
Last Indexed2020-09-21 04:19:13AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Petkoff, Robert.
authorProulx, Annie,
author2-rolePetkoff, Robert.
author_displayProulx, Annie
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
La Farge Large Type
Main
Main Media
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Barkskins opens in New France in the late 18th century as Rene Sel, an illiterate woodsman makes his way from Northern France to the homeland to seek a living. Bound to a "seigneur" for three years in exchange for land, he suffers extraordinary hardship and violence, always in awe of the forest he is charged with clearing. In the course of this epic novel, Proulx tells the stories of Rene's children, grandchildren, and great grandchildren, as well as the descendants of his friends and foes, as they travel back to Europe, to China, to New England, always in quest of a livelihood or fleeing stunningly brutal conditions--war, pestilence, Indian attacks, the revenge of rivals. Proulx's inimitable genius is her creation of characters who are so vivid--in their greed, lust, vengefulness, or their simple compassion and hope--that we follow them with fierce attention. This is Proulx's most ambitious novel ever, and her master work"--
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeAudio CD
Book
Large Print
eAudiobook
iddede3b01-d820-d81f-e74d-4340f53603cc
isbn9780743288781
9780743288798
9781410490896
9781442370067
9781442381049
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b14719423.i20159055MainFiction Proulx, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14719423.i20556974MainFiction Proulx, A1falsefalseDue Sep 27, 2020mn
ils:.b14719423.i19569245MainFiction Proulx, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14719423.i19618220La FargeFiction Proulx, A1falsefalseDue Oct 6, 2020lf
ils:.b1474272x.i19559021Main MediaCD spoken Fiction Proulx, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mav
overdrive:080a4000-ade1-4672-95b5-2784ecc80d14-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b14754903.i19592875La Farge Large TypeFiction Proulx, A1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*llt
itype_santafeCD - Spoken
Regular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-21T10:19:13.094Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeCD spoken Fiction Proulx, A
Fiction Proulx, A
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780743288798
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b14719423BookBooksFirst Scribner hardcover edition.EnglishScribner, 2016.xii, 717 pages ; 25 cm.
ils:.b1474272xAudio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, [2016]21 sound discs (26:00:00 hrs.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:080a4000-ade1-4672-95b5-2784ecc80d14eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2016
ils:.b14754903Large PrintBooksLarge Print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.907 pages (large print) : genealogical tables ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b14719423.i20159055On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14719423.i20556974Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14719423.i19569245On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14719423.i19618220Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b1474272x.i19559021On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
overdrive:080a4000-ade1-4672-95b5-2784ecc80d14-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14754903.i19592875On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
seriesThorndike Press large print core
series_with_volumeThorndike Press large print core|
subject_facetCanada -- History -- 17th century
Canada -- History -- 17th century -- Fiction
Canada -- History -- Fiction
Epic fiction
FICTION -- Historical
Families -- Fiction
General
Historical fiction
Indentured servants -- 17th century -- Fiction
Indentured servants -- Fiction
Large type books
Literary
Lumber trade -- North America -- History -- Fiction
Micmac Indians -- Fiction
title_displayBarkskins : a novel
title_fullBarkskins / Annie Proulx
Barkskins : a novel / Annie Proulx
Barkskins A Novel
Barkskins [sound recording] : a novel / Annie Proulx
title_shortBarkskins
title_suba novel
topic_facetFICTION
Families
Fiction
General
Historical
Historical Fiction
History
Indentured servants
Literary
Literature
Lumber trade
Micmac Indians