Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

We cast a shadow: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
"An incisive and necessary" (Roxane Gay) debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout , about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son--even if it means turning him white "Stunning and audacious . . . at once a pitch-black comedy, a chilling horror story and an endlessly perceptive novel about the possible future of race in America."--NPR LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE, THE PEN/OPEN BOOK AWARD, AND THE PEN/FAULKNER AWARD * NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR AND THE WASHINGTON POST " You can be beautiful, even more beautiful than before. " This is the seductive promise of Dr. Nzinga's clinic, where anyone can get their lips thinned, their skin bleached, and their nose narrowed. A complete demelanization will liberate you from the confines of being born in a black body--if you can afford it. In this near-future Southern city plagued by fenced-in ghettos and police violence, more and more residents are turning to this experimental medical procedure. Like any father, our narrator just wants the best for his son, Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. The darker Nigel becomes, the more frightened his father feels. But how far will he go to protect his son? And will he destroy his family in the process? This electrifying, hallucinatory novel is at once a keen satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. At its center is a father who just wants his son to thrive in a broken world. Maurice Carlos Ruffin's work evokes the clear vision of Ralph Ellison, the dizzying menace of Franz Kafka, and the crackling prose of Vladimir Nabokov. We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525509066
9780525637370
9780525509080
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdf49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
Grouping Titlewe cast a shadow
Grouping Authormaurice carlos ruffin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 12:51:23PM
Last Indexed2020-09-19 12:52:30PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMaurice Carlos Ruffin
author_displayRuffin, Maurice Carlos
available_at_santafeOliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside
display_description"In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method -- by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops -- from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups -- in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
eBook
iddf49cfc0-db15-c7cb-38ee-78fe4099d2df
isbn9780525509066
9780525509080
9780525637370
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b15135007.i20303609La FargeFiction Ruffin, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
ils:.b15135007.i20303610SouthsideFiction Ruffin, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b15135007.o3524760Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderl
ils:.b15135007.o3523433Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderc
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-19T18:52:30.269Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Ruffin, M
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeOliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup) On Order
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup) On Order
primary_isbn9780525509066
publishDate2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2019
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2019
ils:.b15135007BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishOne World, [2019]324 pages ; 25 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15135007.i20303609On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15135007.i20303610On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15135007.o3524760On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15135007.o3523433On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAfrican Americans -- Southern States -- Fiction
Dystopian fiction
Dystopias -- Fiction
Fathers and sons -- Southern States -- Fiction
Racism -- Southern States -- Fiction
Satirical literature
Surgery, Plastic -- Southern States -- Fiction
title_displayWe cast a shadow : a novel
title_fullWe Cast a Shadow A Novel
We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin
title_shortWe cast a shadow
title_suba novel
topic_facetAfrican American Fiction
African Americans
Dystopias
Fathers and sons
Fiction
Literature
Racism
Surgery, Plastic