Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

The sorrow of Belgium

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Pantheon Books,
Pub. Date:
c1990.
Edition:
1st American ed.
Language:
English
Description
A classic novel in the tradition of The Tin Drum, The Sorrow of Belgium is a searing, scathingly funny portrait of a wartime Belgium and one boy's coming of age -- emotionally, sexually, and politically. In 1939, Louis Seynaeve, a ten-year-old Flemish student, is chiefly occupled with schoolboy adventures and lurid adolescent fantasies. Then the Nazis invade Belgium, and he grows up fast. Bewildered by his family -- a stuffy father who actually welcomes the occupation and a flirtatious mother who works for (and plays with) the Germans -- he is seemingly at the center of so much he can't understand. Gradually, as he confronts the horrors of the war and its aftermath, the eccentric and often petty behavior of his colorful relatives and neighbors, and his own inner turmoil, he achieves a degree of maturity -- at the cost of deep disillusion. Epic in scope, by turns hilarious and elegiac, The Sorrow of Belgium is the masterwork by one of the world's greatest contemporary authors. Book jacket.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780394562636
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e2d3011a-dd14-49af-5dd0-5babfd235b75
Grouping Title sorrow of belgium
Grouping Author claus hugo
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-02-20 04:19:32AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-14 04:30:23AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Claus, Hugo, 1929-2008.
author_display Claus, Hugo
available_at_santafe Main Library
detailed_location_santafe Main
display_description
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id e2d3011a-dd14-49af-5dd0-5babfd235b75
isbn 9780394562636
item_details ils:.b11503609|.i12695385|Main|Fiction Claus, H|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||mn||
itype_santafe Regular Circ
last_indexed 2018-11-14T11:30:23.671Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Claus, H
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library
primary_isbn 9780394562636
publishDate 1990
record_details ils:.b11503609|Book|Books|1st American ed.|English|Pantheon Books,|c1990.|ix, 608 p. ; 25 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b11503609 .i12695385 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 9999
subject_facet Belgium -- History -- 1914- -- Fiction, World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
title_display The sorrow of Belgium
title_full The sorrow of Belgium / Hugo Claus ; translated from the Dutch by Arnold J. Pomerans
title_short The sorrow of Belgium
topic_facet History, World War, 1939-1945