Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Among the ten thousand things: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NATIONAL BESTSELLER * For fans of Jennifer Egan, Jonathan Franzen, Lorrie Moore, and Curtis Sittenfeld, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel, a portrait of an American family on the cusp of irrevocable change, and a startlingly original story of love and time lost.   Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.   With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, fifteen-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time, while eleven-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humor, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life--their brittleness, and their resilience.   Praise for Among the Ten Thousand Things   "A luscious, smart summer novel . . . about a family blown apart and yet still painfully tethered together, written by a blazingly talented young author whose prose is so assured and whose observations are so precise and deeply felt that it's almost an insult to bring up her age." --Helen Schulman, The New York Times Book Review   "[An] excellent, insightful first novel . . . a gripping portrait of the disintegration of the Shanley family . . . Pierpont brings this family of four to life in sharply observed detail. . . . An acute observer of social comedy, Ms. Pierpont has a keen eye for the absurd." --Moira Hodgson, The Wall Street Journal   "Pierpont's language is heart-stopping. . . . Technically, of course, this is a domestic drama. But between Pierpont's literary finesse and her captivating characters, it reads like a page-turner. [Grade:] A" -- Entertainment Weekly   "There are going to be as many ingenious twists and turns in this literary novel as there are in a top-notch work of suspense like Gone Girl ." --Maureen Corrigan, NPR's Fresh Air "Tender, delicately perceptive . . . Pierpont's voice is wry and confident, and she is a fine anthropologist of New York life." -- The Washington Post   "Bracing . . . Pierpont's killer ending reveals the long reach of the affair's consequences (sorry, no plot spoilers). Consider this a twisty, gripping story--that packs an emotional wallop." -- O: The Oprah Magazine   "A debut so honest and mature that it will resonate with even the most action-hungry readers--perhaps against reason. Her story is the one we'll be talking about this summer, and well beyond." --Meredith Turits, Vanity Fair   "Pierpont displays a precocious gift for language and observation. . . . She captures the minutiae of loneliness that pushes us away from each other and sometimes brings us back." -- San Francisco Chronicle
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812995220
9781101912904
9780812995237
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe467fac1-3ee3-de6e-c731-1300ea29a96f
Grouping Titleamong the ten thousand things
Grouping Authorjulia pierpont
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-27 04:16:50AM
Last Indexed2020-09-28 04:19:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJulia Pierpont
author_displayPierpont, Julia
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeMain
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_description"Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife Deb gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face-to-face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's."--Dust jacket flap.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeBook
eAudiobook
eBook
ide467fac1-3ee3-de6e-c731-1300ea29a96f
isbn9780812995220
9780812995237
9781101912904
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:e0ead1fa-219f-4b96-a2eb-5e1d1a2efb71-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:5292e697-dc19-474b-b0cf-0fa49a0cf1b6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b14557034.i19327328MainFiction Pierpont, J1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14557034.i19327316MainFiction Pierpont, J1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14557034.i19322768SouthsideFiction Pierpont, J1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-28T10:19:12.011Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Pierpont, J
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9780812995220
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:e0ead1fa-219f-4b96-a2eb-5e1d1a2efb71eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
overdrive:5292e697-dc19-474b-b0cf-0fa49a0cf1b6eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
ils:.b14557034BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2015].322 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e0ead1fa-219f-4b96-a2eb-5e1d1a2efb71-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:5292e697-dc19-474b-b0cf-0fa49a0cf1b6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14557034.i19327328On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14557034.i19327316On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14557034.i19322768On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetAdultery -- Fiction
Ballet dancers -- Fiction
Daughters -- Fiction
Families -- Fiction
Married people -- Fiction
New York (State) -- Fiction
Sculptors -- Fiction
title_displayAmong the ten thousand things : a novel
title_fullAmong the Ten Thousand Things A Novel
Among the ten thousand things : a novel / Julia Pierpont
title_shortAmong the ten thousand things
title_suba novel
topic_facetAdultery
Ballet dancers
Daughters
Families
Fiction
Literature
Married people
Sculptors