Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Night film: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES  BESTSELLER NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR * Cosmopolitan * Kirkus Reviews * BookPage A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy--the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.   On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years.   For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.   Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world.   The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.   Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page. Praise for Night Film   " Night Film has been precision-engineered to be read at high velocity, and its energy would be the envy of any summer blockbuster. Your average writer of thrillers should lust for Pessl's deft touch with character." --Joe Hill, The New York Times Book Review   "Mysterious and even a little head-spinning, an amazing act of imagination." --Dean Baquet, The New York Times Book Review   "Maniacally clever . . . Cordova is a monomaniacal genius who creeps into the darkest crevices of the human psyche. . . . As a study of a great mythmaker, Night Film is an absorbing act of myth-making itself. . . . Dastardly fun . . . The plot feels like an M. C. Escher nightmare about Edgar Allan Poe. . . . You'll miss your subway stop, let dinner burn and start sleeping with the lights on." -- The Washington Post   "Haunting . . . a suspenseful, sprawling page-turner." -- USA Today   "Entrancing and delightful . . . [a] whipsmart humdinger of a thriller . . . It feels, above all things, new." -- The Boston Globe   "Gripping . . . a masterful puzzle . . . Pessl builds up real suspense." -- Entertainment Weekly   "A very deeply imagined book . . . sprints to an ending that's equal parts nagging and haunting: What lingers, beyond all the page-turning, is a density of possible clues that leaves you leafing backward, scanning fictional blog comments and newspaper clippings, positive there's some secret detail that will snap everything into focus." -- New York   "Hypnotic . . . The real and the imaginary, life and art, are dizzyingly distorted not only in a Cordova night film . . . but in Pessl's own Night Film as well." -- Vanity Fair
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400067886
9780679643913
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe5a68aca-275c-f079-a535-c9a5e97499ea
Grouping Titlenight film
Grouping Authormarisha pessl
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-20 04:16:53AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 04:19:12AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMarisha Pessl
author_displayPessl, Marisha
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
detailed_location_santafeMain
Online OverDrive Collection
Southside
display_descriptionWhen the daughter of a cult horror film director is found dead in an abandoned Manhattan warehouse, investigative journalist Scott McGrath, disbelieving the official suicide ruling, probes into the strange circumstances of the young woman's death.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
ide5a68aca-275c-f079-a535-c9a5e97499ea
isbn9780679643913
9781400067886
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b14234129.i18767618MainMystery Pessl, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14234129.i18763807SouthsideMystery Pessl, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b14234129.i18777818MainMystery Pessl, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-26T10:19:12.733Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeMystery Pessl, M
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9781400067886
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2013
ils:.b14234129BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2013]xv, 602 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:442176f4-3ccb-460a-92ac-3af1d95a8455-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b14234129.i18767618On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14234129.i18763807On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14234129.i18777818On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetFathers and daughters -- Fiction
Investigative reporting -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Subculture -- Fiction
Suicide -- Fiction
title_displayNight film : a novel
title_fullNight Film A Novel
Night film : a novel / Marisha Pessl
title_shortNight film
title_suba novel
topic_facetFathers and daughters
Fiction
Investigative reporting
Literature
Subculture
Suicide
Suspense
Thriller