All locations of the Santa Fe Public Library are CLOSED in response to the COVID-19 public health emergency. Please visit our digital content at: https://santafelibrary.org/e-resources/
 

Red clocks: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivv?r, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid's Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous -- even frightening -- times.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316434812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
Grouping Titlered clocks
Grouping Authorzumas leni
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-02-01 04:12:26AM
Last Indexed2020-04-06 04:28:01AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorZumas, Leni, 1972-
author_displayZumas, Leni
available_at_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main
Southside
display_descriptionFive women--including a high school teacher, a pregnant teenager, and a forest-dwelling homeopath--struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been outlawed and where the homeopath is targeted by a modern-day witch hunt. Abortion is illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
format_category_santafeBooks
format_santafeBook
ide768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
isbn9780316434812
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b15001283.i20027783MainFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b15001283.i20027801SouthsideFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b15001283.i20027795La FargeFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-04-06T10:28:01.863Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Zumas, L
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
primary_isbn9780316434812
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b15001283BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishLittle, Brown and Company, 2018.356 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15001283.i20027783On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15001283.i20027801On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15001283.i20027795On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetDystopian fiction
Healers -- Fiction
Oregon -- Fiction
Persecution -- Fiction
Science fiction
Teacher-student relationships -- Fiction
Teenage pregnancy -- Fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_displayRed clocks : a novel
title_fullRed clocks : a novel / Leni Zumas
title_shortRed clocks
title_suba novel
topic_facetHealers
Persecution
Teacher-student relationships
Teenage pregnancy
Women