Red clocks: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A National Bestseller A New York Times Editor's Choice An Amazon Best Book of the Month An Indie Next Pick One of Wall Street Journal 's Twelve Books to Read This Winter An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018 An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall A Nylon Best Book of the Month One of Publishers Weekly 's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017 Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro , a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv#65533;r , a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316434812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
Grouping Titlered clocks
Grouping Authorzumas leni
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-10-13 04:15:27AM
Last Indexed2019-12-12 04:27:09AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorZumas, Leni, 1972-
author_displayZumas, Leni
available_at_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main
Southside
display_descriptionFive women--including a high school teacher, a pregnant teenager, and a forest-dwelling homeopath--struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been outlawed and where the homeopath is targeted by a modern-day witch hunt. Abortion is illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
format_category_santafeBooks
format_santafeBook
ide768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
isbn9780316434812
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b15001283.i20027783MainFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b15001283.i20027801SouthsideFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b15001283.i20027795La FargeFiction Zumas, L1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2019-12-12T11:27:09.2Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Zumas, L
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafeMain Library
Oliver La Farge Branch
Southside Branch
primary_isbn9780316434812
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b15001283BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishLittle, Brown and Company, 2018.356 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15001283.i20027783On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15001283.i20027801On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15001283.i20027795On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetDystopian fiction
Healers -- Fiction
Oregon -- Fiction
Persecution -- Fiction
Science fiction
Teacher-student relationships -- Fiction
Teenage pregnancy -- Fiction
Women -- Fiction
title_displayRed clocks : a novel
title_fullRed clocks : a novel / Leni Zumas
title_shortRed clocks
title_suba novel
topic_facetHealers
Persecution
Teacher-student relationships
Teenage pregnancy
Women