Welcome to the new catalog for Santa Fe Public Library. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Red clocks: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Little, Brown and Company,
Pub. Date:
2018.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description
A National Bestseller A New York Times Editor's Choice An Amazon Best Book of the Month An Indie Next Pick One of Wall Street Journal 's Twelve Books to Read This Winter An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018 An Elle Best Book of Winter A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall A Nylon Best Book of the Month One of Publishers Weekly 's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017 Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro , a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv#65533;r , a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316434812
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
Full title red clocks
Author zumas leni
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-06-04 04:18:05AM
Last Indexed 2018-06-24 04:20:56AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Zumas, Leni, 1972-
author_display Zumas, Leni
available_at_santafe Main Library, Oliver La Farge Branch, Southside Branch
detailed_location_santafe La Farge New Books, Main New Books, Southside New Books
display_description Five women--including a high school teacher, a pregnant teenager, and a forest-dwelling homeopath--struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been outlawed and where the homeopath is targeted by a modern-day witch hunt. Abortion is illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.
format_category_santafe Books
format_santafe Book
id e768c162-21e5-b0a5-e10b-21fad7125375
isbn 9780316434812
item_details ils:.b15001283|.i20027783|Main New Books|Fiction Zumas, L|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||m14dy||, ils:.b15001283|.i20027795|La Farge New Books|Fiction Zumas, L|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||l14dy||, ils:.b15001283|.i20027801|Southside New Books|Fiction Zumas, L|||1|false|false|||||*CHECK SHELF*||c14dy||
itype_santafe 14 day books
last_indexed 2018-06-24T10:20:56.138Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_santafe Fiction Zumas, L
local_time_since_added_santafe Six Months, Year
owning_library_santafe Santa Fe Public Library
owning_location_santafe Main Library, Oliver La Farge Branch, Southside Branch
primary_isbn 9780316434812
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:.b15001283|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Little, Brown and Company,|2018.|356 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b15001283 .i20027783 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
ils:.b15001283 .i20027801 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
ils:.b15001283 .i20027795 On Shelf *CHECK SHELF* false true true false false true 999
subject_facet Dystopian fiction, Healers -- Fiction, Oregon -- Fiction, Persecution -- Fiction, Science fiction, Teacher-student relationships -- Fiction, Teenage pregnancy -- Fiction, Women -- Fiction
title_display Red clocks : a novel
title_full Red clocks : a novel / Leni Zumas
title_short Red clocks :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Healers, Persecution, Teacher-student relationships, Teenage pregnancy, Women