Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

Pachinko

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST * A N EW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW TOP TEN OF THE YEAR * NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2017 *A USA TODAY TOP TEN OF 2017 * JULY PICK FOR THE PBS NEWSHOUR-NEW YORK TIMES BOOK CLUB NOW READ THIS * FINALIST FOR THE 2018 DAYTON LITERARY PEACE PRIZE Roxane Gay's Favorite Book of 2017, Washington Post NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * #1 BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER * USA TODAY BESTSELLER * WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER * WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER In this gorgeous, page-turning saga, four generations of a poor Korean immigrant family fight to control their destiny in 20th-century Japan, exiled from a home they never knew. "There could only be a few winners, and a lot of losers. And yet we played on, because we had hope that we might be the lucky ones." In the early 1900s, teenaged Sunja, the adored daughter of a crippled fisherman, falls for a wealthy stranger at the seashore near her home in Korea. He promises her the world, but when she discovers she is pregnant--and that her lover is married--she refuses to be bought. Instead, she accepts an offer of marriage from a gentle, sickly minister passing through on his way to Japan. But her decision to abandon her home, and to reject her son's powerful father, sets off a dramatic saga that will echo down through the generations. Richly told and profoundly moving, Pachinko is a story of love, sacrifice, ambition, and loyalty. From bustling street markets to the halls of Japan's finest universities to the pachinko parlors of the criminal underworld, Lee's complex and passionate characters--strong, stubborn women, devoted sisters and sons, fathers shaken by moral crisis--survive and thrive against the indifferent arc of history. *Includes reading group guide *
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781455563937
9781478945499
9781478945482
9781478967439
9781455569656
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf63a75e3-828b-6e9b-4fb7-2e89718ab383
Grouping Titlepachinko
Grouping Authormin jin lee
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-19 18:12:29PM
Last Indexed2020-09-20 04:25:09AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Hiroto, Alison,
authorLee, Min Jin,
author2-roleHiroto, Alison,narrator.
author_displayLee, Min Jin
available_at_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge
Main
Main Media
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside
display_description"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"-- In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
format_category_santafeAudio Books
Books
eBook
format_santafeAudio CD
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
idf63a75e3-828b-6e9b-4fb7-2e89718ab383
isbn9781455563937
9781455569656
9781478945482
9781478945499
9781478967439
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:b92d0b34-d678-4f54-a411-5c3875385de1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:eb03a451-f83e-4123-8cbf-d869028bbca3-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
ils:.b15082593.o3457461Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordermav
ils:.b15082593.i20168913Main MediaCD spoken Fiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mav
ils:.b14861574.i20166783MainFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14861574.i20592528SouthsideFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b14861574.i20016657MainFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14861574.i20016633MainFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14861574.i20136316MainFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14861574.i19772956MainFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*mn
ils:.b14861574.i19965151SouthsideFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*co
ils:.b14861574.i20016669La FargeFiction Lee, M1falsefalse*CHECK SHELF*lf
ils:.b14861574.i20016670La FargeFiction Lee, M1falsefalseDue Sep 17, 2020lf
itype_santafeCD - Spoken
Regular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-20T10:25:09.083Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_santafeCD spoken Fiction Lee, M
Fiction Lee, M
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeMain Library (Curbside Pickup)
Main Library (Curbside Pickup) On Order
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
primary_isbn9781455563937
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:b92d0b34-d678-4f54-a411-5c3875385de1eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing2017
overdrive:eb03a451-f83e-4123-8cbf-d869028bbca3eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishHachette Book Group2017
ils:.b15082593Audio CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHachette Audio, [2017]16 audio discs (approximately 18.5 hrs.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:.b14861574BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishGrand Central Publishing, 2017.490 pages ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b92d0b34-d678-4f54-a411-5c3875385de1-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:eb03a451-f83e-4123-8cbf-d869028bbca3-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15082593.o3457461On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15082593.i20168913On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20166783On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20592528On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20016657On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20016633On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20136316On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i19772956On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i19965151On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20016669On Shelf*CHECK SHELF*falsetruetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b14861574.i20016670Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
subject_facetAudiobooks
Domestic fiction
Families -- Korea -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Korea -- Fiction
Koreans -- Japan -- Fiction
title_displayPachinko
title_fullPachinko
Pachinko / Min Jin Lee
title_shortPachinko
topic_facetFamilies
Fiction
Koreans
Literature