Buildings are closed. Curbside Pickup is available. Click here for our interim services.

The poet X: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 5
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Description

Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.

Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.

But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.

With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.

Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation

"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost

"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062662804
9780062662828
9780062822482
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.2, 5 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf76b078c-c06e-09f1-654e-492bebee70ac
Grouping Titlepoet x
Grouping Authorelizabeth acevedo
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-23 09:29:43AM
Last Indexed2020-09-27 04:25:25AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value5
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.2
auth_author2Acevedo, Elizabeth,
authorAcevedo, Elizabeth.
author2-roleAcevedo, Elizabeth,Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayAcevedo, Elizabeth
collection_santafeOn Order
detailed_location_santafeLa Farge Young Adult
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
Southside Young Adult
display_description"Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers -- especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. Mami is determined to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, and Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. When she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she can't stop thinking about performing her poems."--Dust jacket.
format_category_santafeBooks
eBook
format_santafeBook
eBook
idf76b078c-c06e-09f1-654e-492bebee70ac
isbn9780062662804
9780062662828
9780062822482
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13051375Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13051375?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b15042820.o3410559Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Ordercy
ils:.b15042820.o3410559Santa Fe Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderly
ils:.b15042820.i20102252La Farge Young AdultFiction Acevedo, E1falsefalseON HOLDSHELFly
ils:.b15042820.i20102264Southside Young AdultFiction Acevedo, E1falsefalseDue Oct 13, 2020cy
hoopla:MWT11999297Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11999297?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_santafeRegular Circ
last_indexed2020-09-27T10:25:25.46Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score800
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Poetry
local_callnumber_santafeFiction Acevedo, E
ON ORDER
owning_library_santafeSanta Fe Public Library
Santa Fe Public Library On Order
owning_location_santafeOliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup)
Oliver La Farge (Curbside Pickup) On Order
Southside (Curbside Pickup)
Southside (Curbside Pickup) On Order
primary_isbn9780062662804
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0eBookeBookEnglishQuill Tree Books2018
hoopla:MWT13051375eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins, 2018.1 online resource
ils:.b15042820BookBooksEnglishHarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]361 pages ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11999297eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperCollins Publishers, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (3hr., 31 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_santafe
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:593e2aa2-fdf1-4001-9911-e45e0c5305b0-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13051375Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b15042820.o3410559On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15042820.o3410559On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15042820.i20102252Checked OutON HOLDSHELFfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
ils:.b15042820.i20102264Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue9999
seriesmyPerspectives
subject_facetAdolescence -- Fiction
Adolescence -- Juvenile fiction
Authorship -- Fiction
Dominican Americans -- Fiction
Dominican Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Electronic books
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction
Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction
High school students -- Fiction
High school students -- Juvenile fiction
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction
Interpersonal relations -- Juvenile fiction
Novels in verse
Performance poetry -- Fiction
Poetry slams -- Fiction
Poetry slams -- Juvenile fiction
Poets -- Fiction
Poets -- Juvenile fiction
Schools -- Fiction
Schools -- Juvenile fiction
Self-esteem -- Fiction
Self-esteem -- Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Teenage girls -- Juvenile fiction
Women poets -- Fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displayThe poet X
title_fullThe Poet X
The Poet X [electronic resource] / Elizabeth Acevedo
The poet X / a novel by Elizabeth Acevedo
The poet X : a novel [electronic resource] Acevedo, Elizabeth,
title_shortThe poet X
title_suba novel
topic_facetAdolescence
Authorship
Dominican Americans
Electronic books
High school students
Interpersonal relations
Novels in verse
Performance poetry
Poetry
Poetry slams
Poets
Schools
Self-esteem
Teenage girls
Women poets
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature