The gate of angels
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
[United States] : Mariner Books, 1998.
Content Description:
1 online resource
Status:
Available Online
Description
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize: A novel of two "wonderful characters" who meet by accident in Edwardian England, and fall inconveniently in love ( The Washington Post ). In 1912, rational scientist Fred Fairly, one of Cambridge's best and brightest, crashes his bike and wakes up in bed with a stranger--fellow casualty Daisy Saunders, a charming, pretty, and almost pathologically generous working-class nurse. So begins a series of complications--not only of the heart but also of the head--as Fred and Daisy take up each other's education and turn each other's philosophies upside down. From the recipient of a National Book Critics Circle Award, among other honors, this story of an unlikely and possibly doomed romance is a "deft comedy of manners . . . Fitzgerald's elegant prose shines with intelligence and subtle wit . . . Her flair for well-drawn eccentric characters will appeal to fans of Muriel Spark and Barbara Pym" ( Library Journal ). "A singular accomplishment." -- Boston Globe "Powerfully bewitching." -- Los Angeles Times
Also in This Series
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format:
eBook
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780547524733 (electronic bk.), 0547524730 (electronic bk.)

Notes

Restrictions on Access
Digital content provided by hoopla.
Description
Shortlisted for the Booker Prize: A novel of two 'wonderful characters' who meet by accident in Edwardian England, and fall inconveniently in love (The Washington Post). In 1912, rational scientist Fred Fairly, one of Cambridge's best and brightest, crashes his bike and wakes up in bed with a stranger-fellow casualty Daisy Saunders, a charming, pretty, and almost pathologically generous working-class nurse. So begins a series of complications-not only of the heart but also of the head-as Fred and Daisy take up each other's education and turn each other's philosophies upside down. From the recipient of a National Book Critics Circle Award, among other honors, this is a story of an unlikely and possibly doomed romance.
System Details
Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Fitzgerald, P. (1998). The gate of angels. [United States]: Mariner Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Fitzgerald, Penelope. 1998. The Gate of Angels. [United States]: Mariner Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Fitzgerald, Penelope, The Gate of Angels. [United States]: Mariner Books, 1998.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Fitzgerald, Penelope. The Gate of Angels. [United States]: Mariner Books, 1998. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c266dfe5-16b7-a3e2-5bd5-df7af1552db5
Go To Grouped Work

Hoopla Extract Information

hooplaId11937997
titleThe Gate of Angels
kindEBOOK
price1.45
active1
pa0
profanity0
children0
demo0
rating
abridged0
dateLastUpdatedMay 09, 2019 09:41:27 PM

MARC Record

Last File Modification TimeMay 02, 2018 04:25:43 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 24, 2019 08:02:02 PM
LEADER02269nam a22004335a 4500
001MWT11937997
003MWT
00520180412063114.0
006m     o  d        
007cr cn|||||||||
008171013s1998    xxu    es     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780547524733 (electronic bk.)
020 |a 0547524730 (electronic bk.)
02842|a MWT11937997
029 |a https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9780547524733_180.jpeg
037 |a 11937997|b Midwest Tape, LLC|n http://www.midwesttapes.com
040 |a Midwest|e rda
08204|a 823/.914|2 23
099 |a eBook hoopla
1001 |a Fitzgerald, Penelope,|e author.
24514|a The gate of angels|h [electronic resource].
264 1|a [United States] :|b Mariner Books,|c 1998.
264 2|b Made available through hoopla
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
506 |a Digital content provided by hoopla.
520 |a Shortlisted for the Booker Prize: A novel of two 'wonderful characters' who meet by accident in Edwardian England, and fall inconveniently in love (The Washington Post). In 1912, rational scientist Fred Fairly, one of Cambridge's best and brightest, crashes his bike and wakes up in bed with a stranger-fellow casualty Daisy Saunders, a charming, pretty, and almost pathologically generous working-class nurse. So begins a series of complications-not only of the heart but also of the head-as Fred and Daisy take up each other's education and turn each other's philosophies upside down. From the recipient of a National Book Critics Circle Award, among other honors, this is a story of an unlikely and possibly doomed romance.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
650 0|a Working class women|z England|z Cambridge|v Fiction.
650 0|a Physicists|z Engand|z Cambridge|v Fiction.
650 0|a Man-woman relationships|v Fiction.
650 0|a Electronic books.
655 7|a Love stories.|2 gsafd
7102 |a hoopla digital.
85640|u https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11937997|z Instantly available on hoopla.
85642|z Cover image|u https://d2snwnmzyr8jue.cloudfront.net/opr_9780547524733_180.jpeg