The boat people
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Doubleday, [2018].
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
338 pages ; 25 cm.
Status:
Main
Fiction Bala, S
Description
When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks-and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Main
Fiction Bala, S
*CHECK SHELF*
More Like This
More Details
Format:
Book
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780385542296, 0385542291, 9780525432463, 0525432469

Notes

Description
"For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Bala, S. (2018). The boat people. First edition. New York: Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon. 2018. The Boat People. New York: Doubleday.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon, The Boat People. New York: Doubleday, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bala, Sharon. The Boat People. First edition. New York: Doubleday, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
1ec466c2-cc1c-a41e-981a-57f29d91519e
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Sep 05, 2018 04:20:12 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Sep 05, 2018 04:17:45 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03179cam a2200445 i 4500
001ocn983346780
003OCoLC
00520180130030158.0
008170619s2018    nyu           000 f eng  
010 |a 2017020049
019 |a 983019736 |a 983517578
020 |a 9780385542296 |q hardcover
020 |a 0385542291 |q hardcover
020 |a 9780525432463
020 |a 0525432469
040 |a DLC |b eng |e rda |c DLC |d YDX |d OCLCO |d OCLCF |d OCLCQ |d OCLCO |d OO3 |d CTX |d TXKYL |d TXMAL |d IUK |d YDX |d OCLCO |d ORK
042 |a pcc
043 |a n-cn---
049 |a SFPA
0920 |a Fiction |b Bala, S
1001 |a Bala, Sharon, |e author.
24514 |a The boat people / |c Sharon Bala.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b Doubleday, |c [2018]
300 |a 338 pages ; |c 25 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "For readers of Khaled Hosseini and Chris Cleave, The Boat People is an extraordinary novel about a group of refugees who survive a perilous ocean voyage only to face the threat of deportation amid accusations of terrorism When a rusty cargo ship carrying Mahindan and five hundred fellow refugees from Sri Lanka's bloody civil war reaches Vancouver's shores, the young father thinks he and his six-year-old son can finally start a new life. Instead, the group is thrown into a detention processing center, with government officials and news headlines speculating that among the "boat people" are members of a separatist militant organization responsible for countless suicide attacks--and that these terrorists now pose a threat to Canada's national security. As the refugees become subject to heavy interrogation, Mahindan begins to fear that a desperate act taken in Sri Lanka to fund their escape may now jeopardize his and his son's chance for asylum. Told through the alternating perspectives of Mahindan; his lawyer, Priya, a second-generation Sri Lankan Canadian who reluctantly represents the refugees; and Grace, a third-generation Japanese Canadian adjudicator who must decide Mahindan's fate as evidence mounts against him, The Boat People is a spellbinding and timely novel that provokes a deeply compassionate lens through which to view the current refugee crisis"-- |c Provided by publisher.
520 |a "A debut novel about a thirty-five-year-old Sri Lankan refugee who has survived the harrowing experiences of civil war, a prison camp, and a perilous ocean voyage to Canada -- but his journey has only begun, as he and his young son navigate the morass of the refugee system"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a Refugees |z Canada |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Fathers and sons |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Fathers and sons |v Fiction.
655 7 |a Legal stories. |2 gsafd.
655 7 |a Domestic fiction. |2 lcgft.
907 |a .b15000795 |b m |c - |d 171201 |e 180723
998 |a m |b 180130 |c m |d a |e - |f eng |g nyu |h 4 |i 1
908 |a .o335295x
988 |a .o335295x |c 1 |j m |f b |k a |x 171201 |y 180122 |z 180601 |3 - |l m
989 |d mn |b C118090067 |e 07-23-2018 16:49 |f  - - |g - |h 10 |i 1 |j 2 |k 180130 |l $0.00 |m  |n 09-04-2018 12:30 |o - |p 10 |q 10 |t 1 |x 9 |1 .i2002695x