Pachinko
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
490 pages ; 24 cm
Status
Oliver La Farge - Adult
Fiction Lee, M
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Main Library - AdultFiction Lee, MChecked OutAugust 6, 2024
Oliver La Farge - AdultFiction Lee, MOn Shelf
Southside - AdultFiction Lee, MChecked OutJuly 27, 2024
Southside - AdultFiction Lee, MOn Hold Shelf

Extras

Other Editions and Formats

More Details

Published
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2017.
Edition
First edition.
Language
English

Notes

Description
"A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone. PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. So begins a sweeping saga of an exceptional family in exile from its homeland and caught in the indifferent arc of history. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, its members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
In early 1900s Korea, Sunja is the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family. Her unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them all. Deserted by her lover, Sunja is saved when a young tubercular minister offers to marry and bring her to Japan. Caught in the indifferent arc of history, through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, Sunja's family members are bound together by deep roots as they face enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.