The vineyard : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Caistor, Nick, translator.
Garcia, Lorenza, translator.
Published
New York, NY : Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2017.
Format
Book
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Physical Desc
534 pages ; 24 cm
Status
Main Library - Adult  1 available
Fiction Duenas, M
Southside - Adult  1 available
Fiction Duenas, M

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatusDue Date
Main Library - AdultFiction Duenas, MOn Shelf
Oliver La Farge - AdultFiction Duenas, MChecked OutJune 16, 2022
Southside - AdultFiction Duenas, MOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Language
English
ISBN
9781501124532, 1501124536

Notes

General Note
Translated from the Spanish.
Description
"New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
Mauro Larrea, swamped by debt and uncertainty, gambles the last of his fortune in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard in Andalusia de Jerez in Spain. He has every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. Then he meets Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life determined to protect her family's legacy. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, Mauro seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Dueñas, M., Caistor, N., & Garcia, L. (2017). The vineyard: a novel (First Atria Books hardcover edition.). Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Dueñas, María, 1964-, Nick, Caistor and Lorenza, Garcia. 2017. The Vineyard: A Novel. New York, NY: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Dueñas, María, 1964-, Nick, Caistor and Lorenza, Garcia. The Vineyard: A Novel New York, NY: Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc, 2017.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Dueñas, María, Nick Caistor, and Lorenza Garcia. The Vineyard: A Novel First Atria Books hardcover edition., Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, Inc., 2017.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.