Horse latitudes
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Ann Arbor, MI : Dzanc Books, 2019.
Format
Book
Edition
First Dzanc edition.
Physical Desc
308 pages ; 22 cm
Status
Main Library - Adult  1 available
Fiction Collins, M

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Main Library - AdultFiction Collins, MOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Language
English
ISBN
9781945814761, 1945814764

Notes

Description
In the tradition of Joseph Conrad, Ethan, haunted by guilt in the wake of his wife's tortured descent into madness, loses himself in a lawless and sensual world beyond the US's southern border. A stunning debut by an impressive new talent. Ethan, haunted by guilt in the wake of his wife's tortured descent into madness, loses himself in a lawless and sensual world when he crosses the US's southern border. Wandering without hope in a place that obeys only raw power, he meets a woman who saves his life and, in return, extracts his promise to rescue her sister, Mirabelle, from a Central American country on the brink of revolution before Mirabelle can be lured into deeper danger by the false coyote Soto. Pursued through crumbling cities and down a jungle river, Ethan finds himself in a country where personal and political traumas converge in a guerrilla war in which the sides are unclear and the stakes beyond reckoning. Ethan sought absolution and relief when he abandoned everything he knew, but to save Mirabelle, he must make a choice that will place him far beyond the borders of redemption. Horse Latitudes is a lushly-written modern gothic--part thriller, part nightmarish journey into the moral uncertainty at the heart of the American experience in Central America.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Collins, M. (2019). Horse latitudes (First Dzanc edition.). Dzanc Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Collins, Morris. 2019. Horse Latitudes. Ann Arbor, MI: Dzanc Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Collins, Morris. Horse Latitudes Ann Arbor, MI: Dzanc Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Collins, Morris. Horse Latitudes First Dzanc edition., Dzanc Books, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.