The poison thread
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
New York : Penguin Books, 2019.
Format
Book
Physical Desc
350 pages ; 20 cm
Status
Main Library - Adult  1 available
Fiction Purcell, L
Southside - Adult  1 available
Fiction Purcell, L

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Main Library - AdultFiction Purcell, LOn Shelf
Southside - AdultFiction Purcell, LOn Shelf

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

More Details

Language
English
ISBN
9780143134053, 0143134051

Notes

General Note
First published in Great Britain as The Corset by Raven Books, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing Plc, 2018
Description
Dorothea Truelove is young, wealthy, and beautiful. Ruth Butterham is young, poor, and awaiting trial for murder. When Dorothea's charitable work brings her to Oakgate Prison, she is delighted by the chance to explore her fascination with phrenology and test her hypothesis that the shape of a person's skull can cast a light on their darkest crimes. But when she meets one of the prisoners, the teenaged seamstress Ruth, she is faced with another strange idea: that it is possible to kill with a needle and thread--because Ruth attributes her crimes to a supernatural power inherent in her stitches. The story Ruth has to tell of her deadly creations--of bitterness and betrayal, of death and dresses--will shake Dorothea's belief in rationality, and the power of redemption. Can Ruth be trusted? Is she mad, or a murderer? For fans of Shirley Jackson, The Poison Thread is a spine-tingling, sinister read about the evil that lurks behind the facade of innocence.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation (style guide)

Purcell, L. (2019). The poison thread . Penguin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Purcell, Laura. 2019. The Poison Thread. New York: Penguin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Purcell, Laura. The Poison Thread New York: Penguin Books, 2019.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Purcell, Laura. The Poison Thread Penguin Books, 2019.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.