The viral underclass : the human toll when inequality and disease collide
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors
Metzl, Jonathan, 1964- writer of foreword.
Published
New York : Celadon Books, 2022.
Format
Book
Edition
First edition.
Physical Desc
xiv, 334 pages ; 25 cm
Status
Main Library - Adult
362.1962414 Thr
1 available

Description

Loading Description...

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Copies

LocationCall NumberNoteStatus
Main Library - Adult362.1962414 ThrHardcoverOn Shelf

Extras

More Details

Published
New York : Celadon Books, 2022.
Edition
First edition.
Street Date
2208
Language
English

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages 279-323) and index.
Description
"From preeminent LGBTQ scholar, social critic, and journalist Steven W. Thrasher comes a powerful and crucial exploration of one of the most pressing issues of our times: how viruses expose the fault lines of society. Having spent a ground-breaking career studying the racialization, policing, and criminalization of HIV, Dr. Thrasher has come to understand a deeper truth at the heart of our society: that there are vast inequalities in who is able to survive viruses and that the ways in which viruses spread, kill, and take their toll are much more dependent on social structures than they are on biology alone. Told through the heart-rending stories of friends, activists, and teachers navigating the novel coronavirus, HIV, and other viruses, Dr. Thrasher brings the reader with him as he delves into the viral underclass and lays bare its inner workings. In the tradition of Isabel Wilkerson's Caste and Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow, The Viral Underclass helps us understand the world more deeply by showing the fraught relationship between privilege and survival"--,Provided by publisher.

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.